Posted in Books, Tags

An Introduction of Sorts

Hello, people of the internet. My name’s Gemma and this is my book blog. Here I review books, discuss authors of my childhood and present, take part in tags and also present book hauls. Perhaps other book blog-related things I happen to come across and find myself fancying having a go.

Book-related stuff really.

If anyone were to ask me what kind of book-buyer I was, I would describe myself as the ‘intrepid, risk-taking explorer of the bookshop’. In fact, I would go into a bookshop with absolutely no clue what to get. All I have to go on is the book cover and the blurb. That determines whether or not the book stays in my possession or gets put back on the shelf.

In other words, if the book generates my curiosity, then I will read it.

This kind of exploring allows me to find hidden gems (see what I did there?) or the complete opposite, but I don’t plan on changing my book-buying habits any time soon. Why? Because it helps me to learn more about myself. I learn about what I like in a story, what I dislike in a story and (in the best case scenario) what stories stay with me after I’ve read it. To me as a reader, there’s nothing more amazing than to find a story that I never knew would have such an impact on me; that it becomes a part of me.

And that would never have happened if not for taking a risk and giving in to my curiosity.

So I have decided to create this blog to share my thoughts on the books I’ve read and the authors who wrote them.

I figured the best way to introduce myself to the book-blogging side of the internet is to use a tag.

This is the ‘Get to Know Me’ book tag. Here we go!

Can you stop reading at any time, or does it have to be a certain page or chapter?

It has to be at the end of a chapter, but there have been times that I’ve had to stop reading in the middle of a chapter whenever I’m out and about. For example, I tend to read on trains and I’m forced to stop reading in the middle of a chapter in order to actually get off on my stop. I have been close to saying, “Sorry I missed my stop, but I had to finish the chapter I was on in order to satisfy my self-diagnosed OCD.”

Do you eat or drink anything whilst reading?

I tend to eat and drink whilst reading, but I do have to remind myself that if my books get dirty from spillages and food stains, I have no one to blame but me.

Can you read listening to music or watching TV?

No, I keep getting distracted.

One book at a time, or several at once?

I can read, at most, two at once. Like right now, I’m reading Forever Odd by Dean Koontz and issue 7 of Explore History Magazine. Okay, the last one isn’t technically a book, but you get what I mean.

Reading at home or everywhere?

I can read everywhere (well, not literally everywhere…I’ve yet to read on a hot air balloon). When I’m out and about, I read on the train and the bus and, despite being close to do so, I’ve yet to miss my stop due to reading. I’d like to keep that up, to be perfectly honest.

(Come to think of it, has anyone missed their stop due to reading?)

Reading out loud or silently in your head?

I prefer to read silently in my head. That way no one on the public transport will give me weird looks. Then again, I have started to read out loud, like right now as I’m writing this post, to double check it flows well.

Do you read ahead, or skip pages?

I never skip pages!

Okay, on occasion, I have skipped ahead to read the ending, but I have returned to my original position and carried on reading so it makes sense! And I don’t do it all the time!

I swear I don’t!

Breaking the spine or keeping it new.

Keeping it new.

Reading through my own post has made me realise how much of a neat freak I am with my books.

Do you write books, or just read them?

I do write my own stories. One day, I hope to become an author.

*

I hope you have enjoyed reading my first post! Soon I will have my first book review published on my blog.

Have a good day, I’ll see you later!

*****

If the comment section does not appear at the bottom of this post, please let me know and I’ll try to correct it. If you want to leave any thoughts, feel free to let me know on Twitter or Facebook.

Thank you!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

One thought on “An Introduction of Sorts

Leave a Reply

