Posted in Books, My Friday Thoughts, Tags

My Friday Thoughts – I am the Reader

Hello, people of the internet and here is another post of My Friday Thoughts!

This week’s ‘My Friday Thoughts’ post is about what I’m like as a reader. I thought the best way to describe me being a reader, and what books have shaped my identity as a reader, is using another book tag, this time called ‘I am the Reader’. I found this one on one of my favourite book blogs called The Little Contemporary Corner and I found myself loving this tag. It’s a tag that made me think deeply about my own reading habits.

Anyway, enough about me and my fondness for thought-provoking book tags, here are my answers!

Choose one word that describes being a reader

Curious – I know it can be a pretty obvious answer from a blogger who is all about curiosity, but to me, this is my best answer. I think you have to be curious about a story and everything to do with it like characters, settings and themes in order to be a reader.

Alternative answer: Patience – especially with books that could be useful as a stool or doorstop, you have to be patient in a way to read through a whole book and understand it as well.

What’s the very first book you fell in love with?

This is actually a very difficult question to answer (seriously, I’ve rewritten this answer like five times already), because I started reading at a young age and I’m fond of so many books. I don’t remember which book I fell in love with first, but if I had to guess, it would be The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle.

I remember being 3-4 years old and being introduced to this book when I was at nursery school. It was one of the first books that helped me learn to read (and count) and I never got bored of it. Even today, whenever I even think about this book, I feel very nostalgic.

Hardcover or paperback

I don’t mind either, but when it comes to travelling, I prefer to paperbacks. They’re not as heavy as hardbacks.

How has reading shaped your identity?

It is a huge part of my personality. It’s one of the oldest parts of my personality as well because I read a lot as a child. As I’ve grown up and found other interests, reading is still a hobby I cherish. The only thing that changed about it is what kind of books I read and that I read more genres.

What book do you read when you need to be comforted?

I have to pick The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. It’s one of my favourite books of all time and I’m so glad to have it in my collection. Whenever the wonders and magic of the circus is described, I feel its wonders and magic so much so that I feel that I’m actually there exploring the circus. Even though the circus isn’t what it appears to be, I still remember how magical it is. So when I’m in need of a good comfort read, I instantly grab for The Night Circus.

Who taught you to be a reader? (Or did you do it all on your own?)

Both my parents taught me to read from a young age and we still have our own borrowing system. The friends I’ve made from school, college and university encouraged my curiosity in other genres because we would talk about our tastes in books, even if we had different tastes. These discussions made me think about giving other genres a chance.

(To be perfectly honest, I’m still not a huge fan of romance, but I’m keeping an open mind.)

Describe your dream reading lounge

I’d be here all day if I described my perfect reading lounge in very single, tweeny-weeny detail. So I’ll give an overview.

My dream reading lounge is a large room with duck-egg blue wallpaper decorated with realistic drawings of colourful garden birds, except one wall that is just filled with book shelves. It’s so full of books that you can’t even see the wall.

In the far corner facing the bookshelf wall is a plain, white armchair with light oak legs. Sitting on it is a cushion striped with different colours. Nearby is a little table with a lamp (a bit like that Pixar lamp, you know what I mean? I wonder if they have a particular name?) and a mat for my drink. The armchair faces the British countryside.

In case you were wondering, yes, I have been planning my perfect reading lounge in great detail.

Also in case you were wondering, yes, I have been waiting for the perfect opportunity to actually describe it.

What book changed the way you act or see the world?

I don’t think I’ve been the exact same person after I read The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold. I’ll try not to spoil it for anyone who hasn’t read the book, but it’s about a murdered teenager and how she watches her family cope with their loss from the afterlife.

Before I discovered this book, I read crime thrillers which tended to go toward the more ‘fairy tale like’ route, in that killers are caught or bodies are found or good people discover the truth through determination and hard work. When I read The Lovely Bones, it shocked me. I did know beforehand that murders aren’t always solved, despite the effort in finding out the truth, but reading The Lovely Bones made that fact hit home hard.

I won’t lie when I say that during the few weeks after I finished reading it, I hated the impact it made on me. But now, it is one of my favourite books. I’ll dedicate a post to it sometime in the future. It’s one of my favourite books because of its powerful portrayal of grief and how hope can still be found even when it appears there isn’t any.

I first read this book six years ago and I still remember it like I just finished reading it a minute ago.

***

I hope you’ve enjoyed reading this week’s post on My Friday Thoughts!

For any updates or you’re just curious about what I’m up to, don’t forget to follow me on Twitter or Facebook!

Thank you for reading!

***

(Funny how the books I’ve managed to mention here range from murdered teenagers and a circus with a hidden dark purpose to very hungry caterpillars. My taste in books really has changed!)

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

Leave a Reply

