Posted in Books, Tags

Would You Rather Book Tag

Hello, people of the internet!

Yes, I am doing yet another tag. But this time, I’ve actually been tagged (Thank you, JenAcideByBibliophile for tagging me!) and I’ve not gone and decided to do a tag because I felt I had some pretty good answers to them, despite not being tagged by whoever posted the tag in the first place.

Anyway, enough about me and my lack of actually following the rules of tagging. Here are my answers to the ‘Would You Rather’ tag!

(On a side-note, as I’ve been rereading my post before I upload it, I realised I’ve written the word ‘tag’ – fifteen times in this post overall. Now that word just sounds really weird…)

  1. Rather read only a series or stand-alone books?

Oh my, this is actually a difficult question. I’m not lying, I have been thinking about my answer for a while. I’ll have to do that technique people are taught to do during exams: move onto the other questions and come back to this one.

*Approximately ten minutes later*

Well, I’ve eventually decided. If I had to pick, I would pick stand-alone books. Though I have read and loved some series – like Harry Potter, The Hunger Games and the Uglies series – I don’t read that many book series, and I tend to go for more stand-alone books when I’m out looking for books to read.

(Perhaps I should read more book series, so if you have any recommendations, don’t hesitate to let me know!)

  1. Rather read a book whose main character is male or female?

Oh my again. I would pick female characters because I personally do connect with them more than I do with male lead characters.

Then again, some of my favourite books have male leads, like Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time by Mark Haddon and I feel I have somewhat betrayed them.

  1. Rather shop only at Barnes & Noble (or other actual bookstore) or Amazon?

Yay! Finally, an easy question! For me, I’d rather shop only in actual bookstores. I find it easier to browse with books I can pick up and look inside. I think bookstores have lovely atmospheres to them and they’re very characterful too.

  1. Rather all books become movies or TV shows?

Well, I’d say all books become movies only because I watch movies based on books more than I watch TV shows based on books. The only TV show I watch that’s based on a book at the moment is Game of Thrones. I’ve never read the books, though I guess I should. Maybe at some point, I’ll get them and read them.

  1. Rather read 5 pages per day or read 5 books per week?

5 BOOKS PER WEEK! By heck, even the thought of reading 5 pages per day shocks me! I’ll never get any reading done! I can never manage that! So much nope! 5 books per week all the way!

(It’s okay, Gemma, you can stop shouting now. No one is forcing you to only read 5 pages per day. Chill.)

  1. Rather be a professional book reviewer or an author?

Back to difficult questions, I see. I’ve only recently started to review books, but I can say it’s a new love for me. However, I’ve always wanted to be an author. Ever since I could write, I’ve written stories. So I’d rather be an author. There’s just something about creating stories that just makes me happy.

  1. Rather only read the same 20 books over and over or get to read a new book every 6 months?

Oh boy, what is it with these difficult questions? Well, I’d rather get to read a new book every 6 months. Because even if it’s only every 6 months, reading something new introduces new characters, new worlds and new concepts. I’d wait for months for something new rather than read the same books over and over again.

  1. Rather be a librarian or own a book store?

Own a book store! I can just imagine my little book store. I can call it something along the lines of ‘Gem’s Curiosity Shop’ and it’ll have a small reading lounge, a café and perhaps a balcony overlooking the countryside. I’ll also sell cute stationary and each section will be decorated according to the genre of books.

Now I really want a bookstore.

*Plans to write a post about a dream book store*

  1. Rather only read your favourite genre or your favourite author?

I’d rather read my favourite genre because if you only ever read books from one author, you’ll eventually find any recurring tropes they tend to follow. Believe me, I’ve read books from the same author that have the habit of reusing certain themes and/or characters. It can get a little boring for me.

You may be thinking, “But you can get that problem with only reading the same genre.” Well, I’ve thought this through. I’d say I don’t really have a favourite genre, but for this example, I’ll pick mystery. So if I only read the mystery genre, I’ll be able to read books that are mystery thrillers, mystery comedy, mystery sci-fi and so on and so forth.

#loophole

I do hope that’s a loophole anyway.

I may have thought about this whole tag too much. Oh well, I’ve nearly finished.

  1. Rather only read physical books or eBooks?

Yay! Another easy question! I have read eBooks before, but I prefer physical books. There’s something appealing about holding a book in your hands and looking at a shelves filled with books. They make great home decorations too. So, yeah, physical books all the way!

***

I hope you’ve enjoyed reading my tag. This post was a lot of fun to write! I now tag The Little Contemporary Corner, The Diary of a Bookish Girl and Ra and Her Stories (I’m sorry if you have already done this). If I haven’t tagged you and you want to answer this tag, then you can do what I’ve done and just answered them anyway! Feel free to leave your thoughts in the comment section or let me know on Twitter and/or Facebook. I wonder what your answers are!

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

Leave a Reply

