Posted in 2016, Books, Christmas, December, Hauls, Short Stories

December 2016 Book Haul

Hello, people of the internet!

This month’s been a great month for getting new books, thanks for Christmas, of course. I’m very happy with these books. Only one is from an authors I’m familiar with. The others I’ve now just been introduced to. I have read romance, a genre I’m not entirely used to, and it’s currently a genre I’m still curious about.

Anyway, enough about me and my new explorations in the world of books. Here are the books from December 2016!

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find them: The Original Screenplay by J. K. Rowling

fantastic-beasts-and-where-to-find-themExplorer and Magizoologist Newt Scamander has just completed a round-the-globe trip in search of the most rare and unusual magical creatures. Arriving in New York, he intends his stay to be just a brief stopover. However, when Newt’s case is misplaced and some of his fantastic beasts escape into the city, it spells trouble for everyone…

This is one of the most popular books recently and I’m so excited to finally have it in my hands. I am a huge Harry Potter fan of both the books and the films and I have a great feeling about this book.

Also, the cover is absolutely gorgeous! I hope to start reading this soon!

Side note: I keep accidentally typing ‘Fantastic Beats’ instead of ‘Fantastic Beasts’. That would be a very different story…

Slade House by David Mitchell

slade-houseOn one side of a high wall lies a narrow, dank alley; on the other, a sunlit garden; and between them, a small black iron door.

You just need to open it.

Welcome to Slade House.

I haven’t read David Mitchell’s work before and I’ve heard a lot of praise for his books, particularly Cloud Atlas. I have been meaning to get Cloud Atlas, but I found and got Slade House first. I’m extremely curious about this story; the blurb alone grabbed my attention. It’s a small book compared to ones I tend to read – it’s 233 pages – so I automatically think it won’t take too long to read. Another intriguing book this month.

Another side note: Thanks to the internet, the word ‘dank’ means something completely different to me. I hope other people get what I mean!

The Gap of Time by Jeanette Winterson

the-gap-of-timeA baby girl is abandoned, banished from London to the storm-ravaged American city of New Bohemia. Her father has been driven by jealousy, her mother to exile by grief.

Seventeen years later, Perdita doesn’t know a lot about who she is or where she’s come from – but she’s about to find out.

This is a cover version of Shakespeare’s The Winter’s Tale, a play I’m only vaguely familiar with. I don’t know if it’s exactly like the play, only updated to modern times, or has a few twists. Either way, I’m curious about this book. I haven’t read Jeanette Winterson’s work before, but I’ve heard praise for her work too.

I have high hopes!

The Bird Tribunal by Agnes Ravatin (Translated by Rosie Hedger)

the-bird-tribunalTV presenter Allis Hagtorn leaves her partner and her career to take voluntary exile in a remote house on an isolated fjord. But her new job as housekeeper and gardener is not all that it seems, and her silent, surly employer, 44-year-old Sigurd Bagge, is not the old man she expected. As they await the return of his wife from her travels, their silent, uneasy encounters develop into a chilling, obsessive relationship, and it becomes clear that atonement for past sins may not be enough…

This is Agnes’ first book to be translated into English; which is what caught my attention to this book in the first place. I’m eager to read translated books and I’ve read brilliant ones in the past, like I’m Not Scared by Niccolò Ammaniti. I have read plots similar to The Bird Tribunal before, but not in a setting as claustrophobic as this. Again, another book I can’t wait to read!

My True Love Gave to Me by various authors (Edited by Stephanie Perkins)

my-true-love-gave-to-me-2There’s nothing more romantic than twinkling lights and wrapping up warm in the cold, and this collection of twelve gorgeous stories will make you swoon with all the magic of the winter months. So curl up by the fireplace and get cosy. You have twelve reasons to stay indoors and fall in love.

This is a collection of short stories written by Stephanie Perkins herself, Rainbow Rowell, Jenny Han, David Levithan, Holly Black, Ally Carter, Matt de la Peña, Kelly Link, Gayle Forman, Myra McEntire, Laini Taylor and Kiersten White. I’ve already read and done a review, which you can read in detail here. Spoiler alert: it’s a great book for those who read a lot of romance and for those just starting out.

***

And that’s all the books I got this month! I can’t wait for 2017!

Have you got, or already read, these books? Feel free to comment or let me know on Twitter and/or Facebook.

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

Leave a Reply

