Posted in 2017, Book Series, Books, Books That Have Stayed, Fantasy, Harry Potter

Books That Have Stayed – Harry Potter

Hello, people of the internet!

After I received Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them as a Christmas present, I decided to talk about a very popular series of books that may be tiresome to those who hate or are indifferent to it, but is a deeply beloved, important part of my life from a child to right now.

Harry Potter!

I’m aware that Harry Potter has been discussed in all sorts of ways ever since it came into existence; and rightly so. I’ve read and heard many discussions – both positive, negative and indifferent – and, I’ll be honest, I can understand all three sides.

But I understand, as well as emotionally connect, more with the positive discussions.

I can go on about how much I find all the characters so complex and intriguing, how I find the setting clever and magical (of course) and how the writing is just perfect. I can go on about how I never knew where the story was going to go. I can even go on about how Umbridge is one of my most hated characters of all time!

But I won’t.

They are still very valid points, especially Umbridge, and still the reasons why I love the series to bits, except Umbridge. However, these reasons are not the main reasons why this series has stayed with me for so long; why my love for them hasn’t diminished a single bit or why I feel so happy to even glimpse at my series on the shelf.

I’m not sure how to explain this, but I’ll try my best.

I started reading Harry Potter when I was around eight/nine years old and finished the series when I was sixteen years old. So, I pretty much grew up alongside the series. I made friends because of our mutual love for the series. I had learnt so much about love, friendship and growing up from the Harry Potter series that I honestly have no idea what I would have done during those years without it.

In a weird – but I guess a pretty understandable – way, I feel that I have grown up with Harry Potter and his friends. They are real to me; I can’t think of them in any other way.

It has also done something that no other book series has done to me before. I can’t really describe what it really is – I don’t even know if this feeling has a name – but I’ll try to keep this spoiler-free. In fact, I should say this refers to a lot, perhaps even all, of the characters.

There are characters in the Harry Potter universe I thought I knew inside and out, that I knew everything about them. However, by the very end of the series when all is revealed and the truth comes out, I learnt that a lot of things I thought I knew about the characters were wrong. Characters I thought were kind turned out to be the opposite. Characters I thought were useless turned out to be important. Characters I thought were annoying turned out to be pure evil with no redeeming factor in them at all (I’m looking at you, Umbridge!)

In other words, they were not who I thought they were.

It’s a weird feeling when I finally realised that I had actually misunderstood a character I confidently thought I knew. For some characters, after years of thinking I knew them, the realisation that I was wrong is bizarre and honestly quite shocking. I had never encountered it before.

That is why I think the writing and story-telling in this series is perfect. The way J. K. Rowling created these characters and gave clues to their real intentions is incredibly clever and well-paced. There aren’t that many stories out there that could shock me like that and can even make me feel like an awful person for thinking terribly of a character for years when it turned out they weren’t completely bad after all; that they could love.

This book series has stayed with me because I learnt that you don’t really know everything about other people and their actions aren’t always how they appear.

Seriously, if I had instead just started reading the Harry Potter series now, I would have still loved it, but not as much as I do right now. It’s a huge part of my childhood and has taught me a lot.

It has never left my side and I don’t think it ever will.

***

I hope you enjoyed this post. I wanted to dedicate a post to a dearly beloved series of books. I love the films too!

What do you think of Harry Potter? Do you love it, hate it or are you indifferent? Feel free to comment!

If you want to know what I’m up to, you can follow me on Twitter and/or Facebook!

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

2 thoughts on “Books That Have Stayed – Harry Potter

  1. Harry Potter was my childhood! My Mum was given the first four books when I was about six or seven and she read them to me until I felt confident enough in my reading to read them myself. Without Harry Potter I don’t think I would be a reader and I love going back and reading them again. I used to really dislike the Order of the Phoenix but I read it again a few years back and saw it in a completely different light. I think that is what I like about these books, you can love them no matter how old you are and you will always manage to find something you missed before! Great post!
    Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I remember when I was about eight or nine, I chose The Philosopher’s Stone as my reading book for school. At that time it was the hardest book I ever read, but I was so proud when I finished it! Harry Potter is a precious part of my childhood too! And I completely agree: I enjoy the series now just as much as I did when I was younger.
      Thank you! And a happy new year to you too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

