Posted in 2017, Books, January, My Friday Thoughts, New Year

My Friday Thoughts – My Bookish New Year’s Resolutions

Hello, people of the internet!

I know it’s nearly a week since New Year’s Day and I haven’t done anything New Year-ish on my blog (I have done a ‘Best Books of 2016’ post for my friend’s blog, The Little Contemporary Corner, which you can see here). It’s still the time for new beginnings and, at least, the intention to improve on habits and such. So, I decided for this week’s ‘My Friday Thoughts’, it’ll be about what my Bookish New Year’s Resolutions are!

1) Actually read the books in the TBR pile!

I’m not even kidding, but if I sorted all my books into an actual TBR pile, it would be an actual pile! Most of the books I haven’t read yet I got years ago! For example, I got the Gemma Doyle series (A Great and Terrible Beauty, Rebel Angels and The Sweet Far Thing) by Libba Bray when I was 17-18 years old. I’m now 22 years old and I’ve still haven’t read them.a-great-and-terrible-beauty-series

I definitely need to control getting books because I have plenty yet to read. I’m not sure why I go and get new books even though I have a pile to still read through, but I guess I have the mind-set of getting the books that instantly grab my attention because I’m scared that if I don’t get them on that shopping trip, or even make a note of it for the future, I’ll just forget them. Then I’ll wonder if the book I didn’t get turned out to be the book that’ll change my perspective and stay with me; that it’ll be the book I’ll absolutely fall in love with.

I’m making it sound like a romance, except it’s not with an actual human being, it’s a book.

Regardless, that TBR pile needs to shrink and I’ll make that so in 2017!

2) Explore the romance genre more!

I have said that I don’t tend to read romance books, but I recently read My True Love Gave to Me and even wrote a review for it, which you can read here. It’s a great book to begin with and it’s left me wanting to explore this genre further.my-true-love-gave-to-me-2

I’ve been recommended To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, written by Jenny Han, last month. Once I’ve read a good amount of the books of the TBR pile, I will be reading it!to-all-the-boys-ive-loved-before-2

If anyone has any other romance books they want to recommend, feel free to let me know in the comments, Twitter and/or Facebook!

3) Keep up with the blog!

Now this is a very important one for me. I’ve technically only been blogging for over a month and it’s the best decision I made last year. To say I love writing is an understatement. Writing is in my soul. Without writing, I’m not living a life, I’m surviving.

I’d like to think blogging will open up new opportunities out there and the only way that’ll ever happen is if I persevere with the blog, even if it’ll be a slow process. I’ll write reviews for my TBR read and any future romance books, as well as carry on with My Friday Thoughts, Books That Have Stayed as well as take part in book tours and such when I feel I’m ready for it!

I have a lot to look forward in 2017 with my blog and I can’t wait for it.

***

I hope you’ve enjoyed this post! It’s shorter than my usual posts and that’s because I’m working on a review that should be up in a few days.

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

One thought on “My Friday Thoughts – My Bookish New Year’s Resolutions

Leave a Reply

