Posted in 2017, Books, Contemporary, Fantasy, Hauls, January, Reviews, Screenplays, Thrillers

January Summary

Hello, people of the internet!

I can’t believe it’s the end of January already. It doesn’t feel that long ago when it was New Year’s Day. Oh well, in terms of blogging and reading, it has been a great month. I’ve read five books, reviewed them all and kept up with my regular Friday posting!

So, to wrap this month before it ends, here is what I did in January 2017.

Books I read:

Hide and Seek by M. J. Arlidge

hide-and-seek-bookHere is my full review of this crime thriller.

I wrote this review differently than I would have normally because I finished it in one reading. No breaks. I finished it in four hours. So, I wrote my review as more of a thought process. I commented on the book itself as well as the complications on reading a book in one sitting. Overall, I thought Hide and Seek was a great crime thriller that made it difficult for me to put the book down. I strongly recommend reading the DI Helen Grace series to those who love good crime thrillers as well as strong female lead characters.

Be Safe I Love You by Cara Hoffman

be-safe-i-love-you-pictureHere is my full review of this military, contemporary novel.

Be Safe I Love You is a book I bought about a year ago and kept putting myself off reading it because I thought there were more interesting books. To keep to my New Year’s Resolutions, I decided to read it. It turns out it is quite a good book which deals with mental health, effects of war on its soldiers and family with well-written characters. It is a slow-paced novel which I feel won’t be to everyone’s tastes, but if you fancy reading this novel, then go ahead!

Devil in Disguise by Julian Clary

devil-in-disguise-picHere is my full review of this comedy, contemporary drama.

A slow-paced novel with a terrific ending! It is indeed witty with memorable characters. I have to say Julian Clary may already be one of my favourite characters, but I’ll have to read more of his work – I’m quite happy to do that! If you’re a fan of Julian Clary, I’d say give this book a go. I will say though that those who struggle with slow-paced novels may find this one incredibly slow, but its characters keep you reading until its end.

The Little Red Chairs by Edna O’Brien

the-little-red-chairsHere is my full review of this contemporary drama.

This book has been widely praised since its release, and I can say that there are indeed excellent features about The Little Red Chairs, especially the writing about asylum seekers. However, I personally had some problems with it, mainly with its main character. It’s hard to say whether or not I should recommend this book. I will say though that if you love Edna O’Brien work, then give this a read. If you’re still unsure, you can read my full review for more details.

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay by J. K. Rowling

fantastic-beasts-and-where-to-find-themHere is my full review of this fantasy screenplay.

Fans of J. K. Rowling should definitely read this book! It feels like it belongs in the Harry Potter universe with its interesting, lovable characters and its fantastic beasts (see what I did there?). I will say that its format and some parts of its scenes can be confusing to understand, but overall it’s an easy, fun read.

I’ve yet to see the film though…What kind of J. K. Rowling fan am I?

Book Haul

I haven’t bought a lot of books this month because I decided to focus more on my TBR pile, but I couldn’t help but get my hands on these two!

Replica by Lauren Oliver

replicaWhat got me interested in this book was the book itself. That alone that sounds a tad odd, but it’s two stories in one book. One told from the point of view of Lyra and the other told from the point of view of Gemma (not me, I swear!) and the way these perspectives are presented is in the form of a flipbook! You read one perspective in one way, then you turn the book upside down and turn over to read the other! I find that so clever, I had to get it! I will let you guys know on Twitter when I’ll be reading it.

The Sudden Appearance of Hope by Claire North

the-sudden-appearance-of-hopeThis was recommended to me by Sarah from thelittlecontemporarycorner.com and, again, I had to get it. Its plot is unlike anything I have heard of and the blurb leaves a lot to think about. I haven’t read anything from Claire North before, but I have faith in Sarah. I’m honestly looking forward to reading this!

Speaking of Sarah, she very kindly wrote a guest post on this blog this month, which you can read here.

And that is my summary of January! I can’t wait for February and see what it offers.

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

Leave a Reply

