Posted in 2017, Books, February, My Friday Thoughts

My Friday Thoughts – Books I Aim To Read This Month

Hello, people of the internet!

I have a plan! Not just any plan, but a ‘gain control over my TBR pile’ plan! Okay, I promise to stop shouting (for a while), but seriously I’m excited about this.

It is a very bad habit of mine: I get more books when I already have a tower of books that need reading. Perhaps I am some sort of hoarder? I hope not, I’d like to keep my space organised at least. Anyway, enough about me and my hoarding-like tendencies, here is my plan!

(I did say I’d stop shouting for a while. I never wrote how long ‘a while’ was.)

Since I can never predict mood I’m going to be in when it comes to reading books, I decided I needed more of a flexible plan; in that I do need to be more structured and in control when it comes to getting new books, but also flexible to the mood I’m in. I’d hate to force myself to read a light-hearted, comical novel when I’m actually in the mood to read a dark, fantasy novel, for example. There is nothing wrong with a compromise, I always say…or write in this case.

My plan is to read, each month, at least one book I already have in my collection and at least one book that I recently got. That way I have the best of both. I know at some point I won’t keep to this for some reason (like work, other hobbies or a bizarre, spontaneous incident involving a demon, plastic spoons and the Christmas Shrimp), I’ll still try my best. I also plan to pick books that are different in genre or theme. Again, I may not always keep to this, but things don’t always go to plan.

So, here is a list of books I plan to read this February!

The Sudden Appearance of Hope by Claire North

the-sudden-appearance-of-hopeMy name is Hope Arden.

I am the girl the world forgets.

It started when I was sixteen years old.

A father forgetting to drive me to school. A mother setting the table for three, not four. A friend who looks at me and sees a stranger.

No matter what I do, the words I say, the crimes I commit – you will never remember who I am.

That makes my life tricky. It also makes me dangerous…

*Gasps* You have no idea how excited I am to read this book! It was recommended by Sarah from thelittlecontemporarycorner.com and I now have it in my collection. The Sudden Appearance of Hope is my current read and I have a feeling this is going to be a mysterious tale. And do I love my mysteries!

Funny how I finished The Sudden Departure of the Frasers (you can read my review of it here) and now started to read The Sudden Appearance of Hope. I find that quite amusing.

The Loney by Andrew Michael Hurley

the-loneyTwo brothers. One mute, the other his lifelong protector.

Year after year, their family visits the same sacred shrine on a desolate strip of coastline known as the Loney, in desperate hope of a cure.

In the long hours of waiting, the boys are left alone. They cannot resist the causeway revealed with every turn of the treacherous tide, the old house they glimpse at its end…

Many years on, Hanny is a grown man no longer in need of his brother’s care.

But then the child’s body is found.

And the Loney always gives up its secrets, in the end.

I’m going to tell you lot a little story about me and The Loney: I didn’t get this book straight away. I saw it, read the blurb, but didn’t buy it. I have written in previous posts that horror books don’t tend to scare me. That’s why I didn’t plan to read it originally. It wasn’t until I kept seeing it every time I went into a book store did my curiosity start to grow. I eventually got a copy…and that was six months ago. I think it’s time I read it and see this it’ll be the first horror book I get scared of.

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

never-let-me-goKazuo Ishiguro imagines the lives of a group of students growing up in a darkly skewered version of contemporary England. Narrated by Kathy, now 31, Never Let Me Go hauntingly dramatises her attempts to come to terms with her childhood at the seemingly idyllic Hailsham School, and with the fate that has always awaited her and her closest friends in the wider world.

Another book I got a while back and even brought on holiday to read, but never got round to it. Looking back, I can’t see why. Yes, it might have themes of romance and the genre was originally something I didn’t always want to read, but I’m slowly to appreciate the genre more. It’s a happy theme and I can only read so much dark stuff before it starts to worry me (like, what does it say about my character? That I’d rather read dark stories than happy ones? Does happiness bore me??? When I start thinking like that, I read more light-hearted books). So, I will no longer put off reading this. By the end of February, I will have read this!

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

caravalWelcome to Caraval, where nothing is quite what it seems.

Scarlett has never left the tiny isle of Trisda, pining from afar for the wonder of Caraval, a once-a-year, week-long performance where the audience participates in the show. Caraval is magic, mystery adventure and for Scarlett and her beloved sister Tella it represents freedom and an escape from their ruthless, abusive father. When Scarlett discovers her father has arranged a marriage for her she believes all her hopes of escape have been dashed.

Then the sisters’ long-awaited invitations to Caraval finally arrive and it seems their dreams have come true. Yet, no sooner have they entered the confines of Caraval than Tella vanishes, kidnapped by the show’s mastermind organiser, Legend.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But nonetheless she quickly becomes enmeshed in a dangerous game of love, magic and heartbreak. Real or not, she must find Tella before the game is over, and her sister disappears forever.

I cannot, cannot, cannot (repeat ‘cannot’ exactly 21 times) wait to read this! Caraval was one of my most anticipated books of 2017. I’m going to an event about Caraval and the author, Stephanie Garber, later this month and I hope to have read it before then. I’ve heard it has a similar feel to The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, which is one of my favourite books of all time, and a lot of positive reviews, so I have huge expectations.

And that was my list of books I’d like to have read by the end of this month! Having written this list of books I have yet to read fills me with determination. Whether or not I will actually stick to it in another thing.

Have you read any of these books? What did you think of them?

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

2 thoughts on “My Friday Thoughts – Books I Aim To Read This Month

Leave a Reply

