Posted in 2017, Books, February, My Friday Thoughts, New Releases

My Friday Thoughts – My Anticipated Book Releases of 2017

Hello, people of the internet!

I’ll admit it now: I don’t look up books that hasn’t been released yet. There is no reason why I don’t. I just forget.

But no more! I have recently looked up books that are planned to be released this year of 2017 and have written a post about which ones I’m more excited about. This way, not only have I let you know which books are to be released, but also help remind me to get these before I forget.

Anyway, enough about me and my lack of planning-to-get-books-that-have-yet-to-be-released skills, here is a list of books I can’t wait for!

The Boy on the Bridge by M. R. Carey

Release Date: 04/05/2017

the-boy-on-the-bridgeOnce upon a time, in a land blighted by terror, there was a very clever boy. The people thought the boy could save them, so they opened their gates and sent him out into the world. To where the monsters lived.

I have read The Girl With All The Gifts a few years back and it was the book to introduce me to zombie fiction. I can remember its developed characters and its plot even to this day, which says a lot about the book itself. Now that I have M. R. Carey is releasing The Boy on the Bridge, I just had to look into it more. And now? *Gasps* I must have this!

The End of the Day by Claire North

Release date: 06/04/2017

the-end-of-the-dayCharlie meets everyone – but only once.

You might meet him in a hospital, in a warzone or at the scene of a traffic accident.

Then again, you might meet him at the North Pole – he gets everywhere, our Charlie.

Would you shake him by the hand, take the gift he offers, or would you pay no attention to the words he says?

Sometimes he is sent as a courtesy, sometimes as a warning. He never knows which.

This February I read The Sudden Appearance of Hope, also by Claire North, and have written a review about it, which you can read here. I have since been looking for more of her work. So when I heard about The End of the Day, I had to find out more. This plot has caught my attention and is refusing to let go! Claire North’s writing with very witty, easy to read as well as thought-provoking. Yet another release I can’t wait for.

Into the Water by Paula Hawkins

Release date: 02/05/2017

into-the-waterA single mother turns up dead at the bottom of the river that runs through town. Earlier in the summer, a vulnerable teenage girl met the same fate. They are not the first women lost to these dark waters, but their deaths disturb the river and its history, dredging up secrets long submerged.

Before I talk about this book in particular, I have to say that I haven’t read The Girl on the Train yet. As in, completely finished it. I have read segments and have yet to read the whole thing. From what I’ve read, it’s a gripping thriller. Now, concerning Into the Water, the description has alone generated my curiosity. I do like my mystery thrillers and, once I’ve completely read The Girl on the Train, this is next.

Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab

Release date: 06/06/2017

our-dark-duetKate Harker is a girl who isn’t afraid of the dark. She’s a girl who hunts monsters. And she’s good at it. August Flynn is a monster who can never be human, no matter how much he once yearned for it. He’s a monster with a part to play. And he will play it, no matter the cost.

Nearly six months after Kate and August were first thrown together, the war between the monsters and the humans is terrifying reality. In Verity, August has become the leader he never wished to be, and in Prosperity, Kate has become the ruthless hunter she knew she could be. When a new monster emerges from the shadows—one who feeds on chaos and brings out its victim’s inner demons—it lures Kate home, where she finds more than she bargained for. She’ll face a monster she thought she killed, a boy she thought she knew, and a demon all her own.

I bought the first book in the Monsters of Verity series, This Savage Song, and have yet to read it. The reason why Our Dark Duet is on my list is because once I have read it and if I want to continue it, I now know which it will be released!

Love Me Not by M. J. Arlidge

Release Date: 18/05/2017

love-me-notA desperate young woman runs through the storm. She hares up the path, hammering desperately on the front door, crying for help. The startled owner opens the door, ushers her inside, promising her whatever assistance she needs. This fateful decision will be his last. He should never have opened the door …A middle aged couple are found brutally murdered in their ransacked suburban house. Helen Grace, now back at Southampton Central following her release from prison, is first on the scene. The crime is baffling, hideous, cruel, but before Helen can process the evidence, another double murder is reported – identical in almost every way to the first. What follows is the darkest, most dangerous night of Helen’s life as a sequence of brutal home invasions takes place. By sunrise eight people will be dead and Helen may well be the ninth as she finds herself locked on a collision course with a pair of rampaging spree killers. Is there method in their madness? Or are they selecting their victims at random? It falls to Helen to wrestle with these questions – only by answering them can she end the bloodshed. A break neck thriller which takes place in real time over 24 hours, this is the sharpest, most adrenliased Helen Grace thriller yet.

This is the seventh instalment in the DI Helen Grace series. I absolutely adore this crime thriller series and DI Helen Grace is a strong lead. No doubt, if I remember the exact release date, I will buy this book on the day it’s released!

And these are the books I can’t wait to be released! Which to-be-released books can’t you wait for?

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

Leave a Reply

