Posted in 2017, Books, Dystopian, Fantasy, February, Genres, Historical Fiction, Mystery, Thrillers

My Top 5 Fiction Genres

Hello, people of the internet!

I have mentioned before that I don’t tend to have a favourite genre. I just read whatever I feel like reading. For example, one day I could feel like reading a light-hearted sci-fi comedy then, after reading that, I could feel in the mood for a dark contemporary mystery drama. My mood determines what I read. There are even times when I want to read non-fiction.

That being said, that doesn’t mean I treat genres equally. I know, I’m awful. But I do go for certain genres more, mostly those of fiction. And so, here is a list of the fiction genres I currently read a lot of!

But wait, there’s more!

For each genre, I have recommended a book for those who don’t normally read that particular genre, but want to.

Anyway, enough about me and my love for recommendations, here is the list!

Mystery

Boy do I love a good mystery! It keeps me reading a book, even if it isn’t the best written with the best characters. The mystery itself will keep me reading. Finding clues on the way and suspecting every character is what I love about mysteries: you can never truly know what will happen. It doesn’t surprise me that a curious little munchkin such as myself would love mysteries.

For those who are interested in the mystery genre and don’t know where to start, I would recommend:

Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey

elizabeth-is-missingMaud is forgetful. She makes a cup of tea and doesn’t remember to drink it. She goes to the shops and forgets why she went. Sometimes her home is unrecognisable – or her daughter Helen seems a total stranger.

But there’s one thing Maud is sure of: her friend Elizabeth is missing. The note in her pocket tells her so. And no matter who tells her to stop going on about it, to leave it alone, to shut up, Maud will get to the bottom of it.

Because somewhere in Maud’s damaged mind lies the answer to an unsolved seventy-year-old mystery. One everyone has forgotten about.

Everyone, except Maud…

*

Fantasy

I love what can be done with fantasy. There aren’t any limits as to what could be created! New worlds, new creatures, even new languages! When done correctly, these worlds feel real. Also, sometimes it’s nice to escape from reality for a bit and enter a world that is the complete opposite. You can trust fantasy for a little escapism!

For those who want to explore the fantasy genre further, I would recommend:

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

the-night-circusThe circus arrives without warning.

No announcements precede it…

It is simply there, when yesterday it was not.

*

Thriller

Nothing to keep you on your toes than a good ol’ thriller! They get my heart racing, get my entire being restless; I cannot put a thriller down for the most part. I get so entranced by the action and suspense that I am no longer sitting on a chair in my own house; I am there with the main character in the danger.

If you think you can handle a thriller, I would recommend:

Eeny Meeny by M. J. Arlidge

eeny-meenyThe girl emerged from the woods, barely alive. Her story was beyond belief. But it was true. Every dreadful word of it. Days later, another desperate escapee is found – and a pattern is emerging. Pairs of victims are being abducted, imprisoned then faced with a terrible choice: kill or be killed. Would you rather lose your life or lose your mind? Detective Inspector Helen Grace has faced down her own demons on her rise to the top. As she leads the investigation to hunt down this unseen monster, she learns that it may be the survivors – living calling cards – who hold the key to the case. And unless she succeeds, more innocents will die…

*

Dystopian

I read my first dystopian novel a few years ago and I’m glad I did. It is an intriguing concept as well as how it allowes several political and social issues to become main themes. Again, this can create new worlds, but I feel they tend to focus more on society and politics. Dark, harrowing stuff, but by heck are they great to read!

Think you can handle dystopian? Well then, I recommend the first dystopian novel I ever read:

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

the-hunger-gamesMay the odds be ever in your favour.

Winning will make you famous. Losing means certain death.

In a dark vision of the near future, twelve boys and twelves girls are forced to appear in a live TV show called the Hunger Games. There is only one rule: kill or be killed.

When sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen steps forward to take her sister’s place in the games, she sees it as a death sentence. But Katniss has been close to death before. For her, survival is second nature.

*

Historical fiction

I am an absolute history nut. If someone asked me if I would rather go to the future or go to the back, I would instantly say, “Really? Have you read dystopian? Damn, future, you scary! Anyway, nah, past for me please.” To see what the world looked like, not through films, documentaries or photos, but as it was happening would be a dream come true! But since time travel is (currently) non-existent, I’m happy to read historical fiction.

If you want to travel into the past, I would recommend:

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

the-book-thiefThere is a small fact.

YOU ARE GOING TO DIE.

1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier.

Liesel, a nine-year-old girl, is living with a foster family on Himmel Street. Her parents have been taken away to a concentration camp. Liesel steals books. This is her story and the story of the inhabitants of her street when the bombs begin to fall.

Some important information

THIS NOVEL IS NARRATED BY DEATH

It’s a small story, about:

A girl…an accordionist…some fanatical Germans…A Jewish fist fighter…and quite a lot of thievery.

Another thing you should know

DEATH WILL VISIT THE BOOK THEIF THREE TIMES

And that was my list of my Top 5 Fiction Genres. I do have lots of other books to recommend, but if you’re curious, feel free to flick through my blog and read my reviews. I have recommended other books of other genres as well. I just wanted to recommend books I haven’t discussed on this blog before.

Also, I do like the other genres not mentioned on this list. Who knows? Maybe they’ll be discussed in another list in the future…On a Friday perhaps?

*Wink*

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

Leave a Reply

