Posted in 2017, Books, Classic, Comedy, February, Genres, Horror, Romance, Sci-Fi

My Friday Thoughts – Genres I Should Read More Of

Hello, people of the internet!

On Wednesday, I uploaded a post about my Top 5 Fiction Genres (which you can read here) and it got me thinking this: how about the other genres I neglected? What if there’s a story out there perfect for me and I haven’t read it because it’s a certain genre? Well, I have given it some thought and I want to discuss these genres in more detail.

So, here is a list of genres I no longer want to neglect!

Romance

Yes, for those who have been reading my blog for a while, you probably know that I originally didn’t read a lot of romance. The only romance I read about were in stories that focused on other genres more, in that it wasn’t a major theme. I just thought that romance wouldn’t keep me reading or interested, that I knew from the very beginning where it was going to go.

That is until I read My True Love Gave To Me (if you want to read my review of it, click here). I realised that, even if I do know what will happen, it doesn’t matter. I am happy to see characters in love and go through many obstacles to achieve it. It really is uplifting to read. So much so I feel I should have read more of this genre long ago!

Ever since then, I have been wanting to give romance a chance. I haven’t gotten round to buying any romance books yet and I have been recommended some really promising ones by good friends of mine. I’ll let you know via Twitter, Facebook and this blog when I get these books.

Horror

I have mentioned in the past that I don’t get scared by horror books. I have read Stephen King novels before – It, The Shining, Carrie, Christine and Misery – and I wasn’t horrified to the point that I would leave my lights on to prevent any monsters from killing me in my sleep.

That being said, I have been creeped out by reading horror books.

Case in point: The Woman in Black by Susan Hill.

I would recommend this book to everyone who loves ghost stories and is a fan of gothic literature. Nicely paced and brilliantly written, this is my favourite ghost story. The back story to the woman in black is tragic and horrifying at the same time – no wonder she came back to haunt the Eel Marsh House!

Seeing The Woman in Black on my shelf reminds me that I should look for more horror books. Whether it be fiction or non-fiction (I have been interested in finding a book about real ghost stories for a while – if you know any, feel free to let me know!), I am ready to be scared shi-

SCIENCE FICTION!

Honestly, I need to read more of this genre! Like…more space stuff please! Of course, I know science fiction isn’t just about space. I have read science fiction before that isn’t about space. In fact, the current book I’m reading, Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro, is science fiction. What I mean is that I want to read a story that takes place in space (but that rhyming though!)

I have seen this book around for quite a bit: The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers. It grabs my attention each time I see it and I have been tempted to get it. But then I don’t. I do want to give this book a go, but I still wonder if it’s worth the read. Do you guys recommend it?

So, yes, space is awesome! I do need to read a book about space!

Comedy

In the past, I have read funny books. Whether it be a funny character, a funny line or because a book is so hilariously bad that it’s good, I have not avoided funny books all my life. Last month, I read Devil in Disguise by Julian Clary and, though I didn’t laugh out loud, it was most certainly witty. After I finished reading it though, it made me wonder if I should pursue books of the comedy genre.

There is one book that comes to mind when I think of a funny book I’ve read. That is Lumberjanes, a comic books series created by Shannon Watters, Grace Ellis, Brooke A. Allen and Noelle Stevenson. I’m not sure if it is classed as a comedy, but there were quite a few sections where I did giggle. The illustrations is perfect for its story and I simply adore the diverse characters. I do recommend these graphic novels if you’re looking for a fun book about adventure.

I love comedy, and so I want to read more comedy books. So if you have any comedy books you want to recommend, let me know!

(Seriously, there is only so much deep, depressing stuff I can take.)

Classic

*Hides in a corner*

Yep, I don’t read that many classics. I mean, I have read 1984, Animal Farm, How to Kill a Mockingbird and The Great Gatsby, but apart from that, I haven’t read that many classics. Heck, I have Alice in Wonderland in my collection since childhood and I haven’t read it! Even I’m appalled and I’m the one I’m appalled at!

They must be good! There are reasons why they’re still talked about to this day. In fact, when I was taught about Charlies Dickens back in school, we learnt about Oliver Twist, read sections of the book, but never read it all the way through. When I think about it, I do want to read it as a whole, but I don’t. Perhaps because I already know what happens. I think that may apply to other classics as well. Is it worth reading a classic even if I know what will happen?

Of course it is! Again, if you want to recommend a classic to me, go ahead!

***

That was five genres I should read more of. What genres do you want to explore more of?

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

Leave a Reply

