Posted in 2017, Contemporary, Fantasy, February, Hauls, Mystery, Sci-Fi, Thrillers

February 2017 Book Haul

Hello, people of the internet!

This is another February-summary like post I’ve uploaded (you can read my other February Summary post here if you wish), which happens to be a book haul! Yay! Anyway, enough about me and my excitement over new books, I hope you enjoy my little book haul post!

A Darker Shade Of Magic by V. E. Schwab

a-darker-shade-of-magicKell is one of the last travellers – magicians with a rare ability to travel between parallel universes connected by one magical city. There’s Grey London, without magic and ruled by the mad King George III. Red London – where magic is revered, and where Kell was raised alongside the heir to the empire. White London – where people fight to control the remaining magic and magic fights back. And once there was Black London…

Beautiful cover? Check. Interesting plot? Check. From an author I’ve only recently discovered by her other book This Savage Song and whose writing I’ve instantly fallen in love with? CHECK!!!

The First Fifteen Lives Of Harry August by Claire North

the-first-fifteen-lives-of-harry-augustSome stories cannot be told in just one lifetime.

No matter what he does or the decisions he makes, every time Harry dies, he always returns to where he began, a child with all the knowledge of a life lived a dozen times before.

Nothing ever changes – until now.

As Harry nears the end of his eleventh life, a little girl appears at his bedside. ‘I nearly missed you, Doctor August,’ she says. ‘I need to send a message.’

This is the story of what Harry does next, and what he did before, and how he tries to save a past he cannot change and a future he cannot allow.

After reading Claire North’s The Sudden Appearance of Hope (you can read my full review here), I have been looking for her other work. And this is what I decided to read next. I heard so many great things about this book and I have a feeling I won’t be disappointed.

The Long Way To A Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers

the-long-way-to-a-small-angry-planetWhen Rosemary Harper joins the crew of the Wayfarer, she isn’t expecting much. The Wayfarer, a patched-up ship that’s seen better days, offers her everything she could possibly want: a small, quiet spot to call home for a while, adventure in far-off corners of the galaxy, and distance from her troubled past.

But Rosemary gets more than she bargained for with the Wayfarer. The crew is a mishmash of species and personalities, from Sissix, the friendly reptilian pilot, to Kizzy and Jenks, the constantly sparring engineers who keep the ship running. Life on board is chaotic, but more or less peaceful – exactly what Rosemary wants.

Until the crew are offered the job of a lifetime: the chance to build a hyperspace tunnel to a distant planet. They’ll earn enough money to live comfortably for years…if they survive the long trip through war-torn interstellar space without endangering any of the fragile alliances that keep the galaxy peaceful.

But Rosemary isn’t the only person on board with secrets to hide, and the crew will soon discover that space may be vast, but spaceships are very small indeed.

I have said previously that I wanted to read a sci-fi book about space and have been tempted to get this book. Now I have it, so there’s no going back now!

Fellside by M. R. Carey

fellsideYou will find Fellside somewhere on the edge of the Yorkshire moors. It is not the kind of place you’d want to end up, but it’s where Jess Moulson could be spending the rest of her life.

It’s a place where even the walls whisper. And one voice belongs to a little boy with a message for Jess. Fellside will be the death of you – if it doesn’t save you.

I do have a huge soft spot for thrillers and the blurb alone has my attention. Not to mention the fact it’s set in Yorkshire, a place I visit a lot. I can’t wait to read this!

And that was my book haul! Have you read any of these books? What did you think of it?

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

Leave a Reply

