Posted in 2017, Books, February, Reviews, Summary

February Summary

Hello, people of the internet!

This month hasn’t been as busy as I originally wanted it to be. Sure, I did get quite a few posts up, but I went a whole week without a post – not even my regular Friday posting! I understand that these things happen and other things can mean I won’t be able to blog as much. I had job interviews and my dance show this February. But apart from that, I have kept up with the majority of my plans.

Anyway, enough about me and my life outside of blogging, here is everything blog-related I got up to this February!

Book Reviews:

The Sudden Departure of the Frasers by Louise Candlish

tsdotfHere is my full review of this contemporary mystery.

I had finished reading this book at the beginning of February and so I have had time to reflect on it. It was an okay book. Some bits were cleverly written, others felt overdone and unoriginal. As for the reveal itself? Well…if anything, it is dark and shocking like the book promises, but nothing spectacular. Read my full review if you want to know more before you invest in this book.

The Sudden Appearance of Hope by Claire North

the-sudden-appearance-of-hopeHere is my full review of this sci-fi thriller.

And as soon as the Frasers suddenly departed, Hope suddenly appeared! Anyway, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It has an original concept with themes that left me thinking about it way after I finished reading it. If you enjoy sci-fi with an original idea and a strong female lead, I strongly recommend this book!

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

caravalHere is my full review of this fantasy mystery.

Okay, I’m sure you would have heard about this book at some point and I have gone on about it for quite a while since its release. But seriously, I think it is worth the read! It really is a magical book with well-written characters and an interesting plot! If you adore fantasy, you will adore this book!

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

never-let-me-goHere is my full review of this sci-fi dystopian novel.

Have you ever read a book that simply grabbed your attention and no matter how long ago you’ve read it, it never leaves you? Well, I have a series that ‘Books That Have Stayed’, which talk about books that have this effect on me. And I would put Never Let Me Go with those books. Want to know why? Why not read my full review? Huh?

(Funny how I have described a book called Never Let Me Go as a book that will never leave you.)

The Loney by Andrew Michael Hurley

the-loneyHere is my full review of this gothic horror.

This book really is a mixed bag for me. It has brilliant writing when it comes to describing settings and characters. It really does feel like a gothic story. However, the biggest issue I had with this story is the ending. Not for me, but if you want to know more about The Loney, feel free to read my review!

‘My Friday Thoughts’ Posts This February:

My Friday Thoughts – Books I Aim To Read This Month

biatrtm-logo

My Friday Thoughts – My Anticipated Book Releases of 2017

my-anticipated-new-releases-logo

My Friday Thoughts – Genres I Should Read More Of

genres-i-should-read-more-of-logo

Other Posts I Did This February:

My Top 5 Fiction Genres

my-top-5-fiction-genres-logo

Caraval Book Event – Collaboration Post!

caraval-book-event-logo

And that sums up my February of book-related thingyajigs! I hope this March is just as fun, and I also hope your March is good too.

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

Leave a Reply

