Posted in 2017, Fantasy, Harry Potter, March, Pottermore

Sorting Into Pottermore

Hello, people of the internet!

Sarah from The Little Contemporary Corner and Charlotte from Wonderfully Bookish recently did a post about the famous Harry Potter website, Pottermore. The website not only informs you of the Harry Potter universe itself and J. K. Rowling’s books, it also allows you to take some very important tests such: Hogwarts House Sorting test, Ilvermorny House sorting test, finding your wand and your own Patronus!

Well, here is my own Pottermore post where I undertook these tests myself!

Hogwarts House Sorting Test

First thing first, when I was a child and was introduced to Harry Potter, I always thought I would be better suited for Gryffindor. I thought I was brave and determined (or stubborn perhaps, but I prefer to be called determined). But as I grew older, I found myself comparing myself to the other houses. I like to think I am loyal like the Hufflepuffs, ambitious like the Slytherins and intelligent like the Ravenclaws.

So I needed answers from the Sorting Hat.

And…gryffindor

I GOT GRYFFINDOR! WOOP WOOP!

I am very happy with the result! I know I am a true Gryffindor deep down.

gryffindor-traits-2

Ilvermorny House Sorting Test

For those who don’t know, Ilvermorny is a wizarding school and has been mentioned in Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them. I had no idea about what each house represented, so I went in blind.

pukwidgie

I have been sorted into Pukwudgie!

Can I just say I absolutely love the word ‘pukwudgie’? Anyway, I looked up what it meant to be sorted into the Pukwudgie house and it said it “represents the heart of a witch or wizard” and that it “favours healers”. Yep, this is my house.

pukwudgie-2

Finding my wand

wand

This is the wand that chose me!

  • Cedar wood
  • 10″ in length
  • Unicorn hair core
  • Reasonably supple flexibility

According to the website, wands with a unicorn hair core have “the most consistent magic” and “generally the most difficult to turn to the Dark Arts”. However, they aren’t the most powerful wands and “are prone to melancholy”. So, I’ll try not to mishandle my wand…Anyway!

Witches whose wands are of cedar wood demonstrate “strength of character and unusual loyalty”, that “you will never fool the cedar carrier” and that any “witch and wizard who is well-matched with cedar carries the potential to be a frightening adversary, which often comes as a shock to those who have thoughtlessly challenged them”.

Is it bad to say that I am a tad flattered? Maybe, but oh well!

Discovering my Patronus!

Last but not least, my patronus and I got…

patronus

A Manx Cat!

Yay! I love cats, they’re one of my favourite animals and would love to have one as a pet. Of course, I was secretly hoping for an owl (since I’m, like, OBSESSED with owls!), but I am very happy with a cat. Though, to be honest, I’m not sure why a Manx cat specifically. So I looked about on the internet and, according to a Tumblr post (the only source I could find about the meanings behind them) found that those with a Manx Cat Patronus are “usually calm under pressure and good in difficult situations”, “nothing will phase a conjurer of this Patronus, which makes them good to have on your side”; they are “fierce to those on the wrong side of them and fiercely  loyal to allies” and that “only an unflappable individual can successfully conjure this fiery Patronus”.

I can go with that!

Edit: Okay, I know this post is about a month old, but I suddenly love my Patronus even more when I found out something about my family history and Manx cats!

It turns out years ago, some members of my family lived in the Isle of Man for quite a few decades (for those who don’t know, the Isle of Man is a small island between England and Northern Ireland). I never met the majority of these members, but it remains an important place for me and my family.

And where do Manx cats originate from? The Isle of Man.

*Excited giggles*  OMG my Patronus is perfect!!

***

And that was my post about Pottermore! I hope you enjoyed reading.

Do you have a Pottermore account? What did you get?

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

2 thoughts on “Sorting Into Pottermore

Leave a Reply

