Posted in 2017, Books, Contemporary, Fantasy, March, My Friday Thoughts, Mystery, Romance, Short Stories, Thrillers, Young Adult

My Friday Thoughts – Books I Aim To Read This Month (March 2017)

Hello, people of the internet!

Since my last ‘Books I Aim To Read This Month’ went well, I’ll try again this month. I have picked four books, three of which I bought a while ago and the other is part of a book club I have recently joined. I am excited to read these books, so here are the books I aim to read this March!

This Savage Song by V. E. Schwab

this-savage-songKate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city, a grisly metropolis where the violence has begun to create real and deadly monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the inhabitants pay for his protection. August just wants to be human, as good-hearted as his own father – but his curse is to be what the humans fear. The thin truce that keeps the Harker and Flynn families at peace is crumbling, and an assassination attempt forces Kate and August into a tenuous alliance. But how long will they survive in a city where no one is safe and monsters are real.

I am already half through this book, so I think I’m sticking to this list well! Anyway, I’ll discuss this book more in a further book review, but let me tell you…I can’t wait for the sequel.

*Tries to keep the excitement under control*

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

we-are-okayYou go through life thinking there’s so much you need…

Until you leave with only your phone, your wallet, and a picture of your mother.

Marin hasn’t spoken to anyone from her old life since the day she left everything behind. No one knows the truth about those final weeks. Not even her best friend, Mabel. But even thousands of miles away from the California coast, at college in New York, Marin still feels the pull of the life and tragedy she’s tried to outrun. Now, months later, alone in an emptied dorm for winter break, Marin waits. Mabel is coming to visit, and Marin will be forced to face everything that’s been left unsaid and finally confront the loneliness that has made a home in her heart.

I currently waiting for my copy of this book and, once it’s in my possession, I’m reading it straight away! I’m reading We Are Okay for The Little Contemporary Corner’s LGBTQ+ book club, which is about reading books that focuses on LGBTQ+ themes. Even though I am personally heterosexual, I have family members and friends who are LGBTQ+ and I’ll forever support them in any way I can. If you want to know more about their book club, click here!

The Pier Falls by Mark Haddon

the-pier-fallsAn expedition to Mars goes terribly wrong. A seaside pier collapses. A thirty-stone man is confined to his living room. One woman is abandoned on a tiny island in the middle of the ocean. Another woman is saved from drowning. Two boys discover a gun in a shoebox. A group of explorers find a cave of unimaginable size deep in the Amazon jungle. A man shoots a stranger in the chest on Christmas Eve.

In this first collection of stories by the author of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, Mark Haddon demonstrates two things: first that he is a master of the short form (several of the stories have been longlisted for prizes), second that his imagination is even darker than we had thought.

I haven’t always been a huge fan of short stories; I only started to read them more when I was at University. Now I think they’re lovely forms of literature! I mean, I write short stories too. So, when I found this, not only was I intrigued by the short stories themselves, but also because that they were written by Mark Haddon, whose writing I find very well-written.

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

the-girl-on-the-trainEvery day the same.

Rachel catches the same commuter train every morning. She knows it will want at the same signal each time, overlooking a row of back gardens.

She’s even started to feel like she knows the people who live in one of the houses, ‘Jess and Jason’, she calls them. Their life – as she sees it – is perfect. If only Rachel could be that happy.

Until today.

And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough.

Now everything’s changed. Now Rachel has a chance to become a part of the lives she’s only watched from afar.

Now they’ll see: she’s much more than just the girl on the train…

Okay, here’s a little confession…Not only have I not read the book yet, but I also haven’t seen the movie yet either.

*Hides in a corner*

Well, hopefully I will be have this book by the end of this month!

***

And that was this month’s ‘Books I Aim To Read This Month! Have you read any of these books? What did you think of them?

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

2 thoughts on “My Friday Thoughts – Books I Aim To Read This Month (March 2017)

Leave a Reply

