Posted in 2017, Books, March, My Friday Thoughts, Tags

My Friday Thoughts – Time and Place Book Tag

Hello, people of the internet!

I have yet again been tagged!

Okay, my friend, Sarah, from The Little Contemporary Corner, recently took part in a tag and said (or wrote, it was a blog post) she tagged everyone who liked the tag. So, technically I have been tagged because I do like it.

Anyway, enough about me and my status of being somewhat tagged, I decided to take part in the ‘Time and Place’ Book Tag! This tag was created by Jen Campbell and it involves choosing ten books that you associate with a time and place. I absolutely love this idea and I cannot wait to let you lot know which ten books I’ve chosen!

The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

Time: Summer 2010

Place: Ayr, Scotland

I bought this book on my way to a beautiful place in Scotland called Ayr. I seriously recommend Ayr for those who love visiting Scotland and those who haven’t and want a good place to start. Even though I do reread The Lovely Bones sometimes when it is winter because the story itself does feel more like a winter book, but whenever I see my copy of The Lovely Bones, I can remember the caravan my family and I stayed in and how I curled up in my corner of the living room reading it.

The Tales of Peter Rabbit and others by Beatrix Potter

Times: Childhood/Summer 2016

Places: My grandparents’ houses/Lake Windermere, Cumbria

I put two places for this one because both times and places are significant to me. The stories of Peter Rabbit as well as the other tales remind me of when I visited my grandparents on both sides of my family and I begged them to read me stories of Peter Rabbit and others. As for the more recent time, I visited Lake Windermere in Cumbria and it was then I learnt more about Beatrix Potter and how she was more than a writer. She was an illustrator, natural scientist, and conservationist! In fact, she helped preserve much of the land that makes up the Lake District National Park and she lived near Lake Windermere. It was there I looked at Beatrix Potter in a different light; with more respect and appreciation. And now I love her stories even more.

Amazons and Swallows by Arthur Ransome

Time: Summer 2016

Place: Lake Coniston, Cumbria

This one is different than the others in that I didn’t read Amazons and Swallows at Lake Coniston; I read it at home when I was about 10 years old. But when I visited Lake Coniston – during the same holiday when I visited Lake Windermere – I learnt more about the book I loved. I was told that Arthur Ransome took various places of the Lake District and changed them around in order to create his own version in his stories. The lake in Amazons and Swallows is a fictionalised version of Lake Windermere, but the surrounding countryside fits more with the countryside surrounding Lake Coniston. So when I was on a boat exploring the lake, it was exactly how I pictured the setting when I first read Amazons and Swallows. So that’s why I associate a book I read years before to a time and place that’s quite recent.

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

Time: Early summer 2015

Place: train journey between home and university

When I started Uni, I decided not to move in student accommodation. I just wasn’t confident enough. So instead I regularly commuted from home by train. That’s when I began to learn how to read on trains. I have read loads of books during these journeys, but it is Neverwhere I associate with this journey the most. It was before I finished my second year at Uni and it was one of the last weeks before we broke up. I remember it being a beautiful day with its cloudless blue sky contrasting with the lush green countryside. The window was open so I could smell the grass and breeze. It was a gorgeous place to travel in almost daily! With some beautiful scenery and a fantastic book I began reading on that journey, I can honestly say I was a very contended person that day.

Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey

Time: Summer 2016

Place: Haverigg, Cumbria

You may have noticed I travel to Cumbria a lot. That’s because it’s one of my favourite places to visit. Haverigg is a very peaceful place to stay. In fact, where I stayed also had a beach! When I read Elizabeth is Missing, I was outside with a similar blue sky and green countryside to the one I aforementioned, but instead of countryside I could hear and smell, it was the sea. I fell in love with the place and I was indeed very happy there. A pleasant memory due to a wonderful beach and countryside and one of my all-time favourite books.

The Demon Headmaster by Gillian Cross

Time: Spring 2008

Place: Passo Tonale, Italy

Passo Tonale, Italy, holds a very special place in my heart. I was thirteen years old and went with school for a week’s skiing trip. I was incredibly nervous since it was my first time not only abroad, but also without any members of my family. I struggled (heck, I still do!) with communicating and interacting with people and it was a massive risk I took. And it was the best risk I ever made. After seeing Passo Tonale in all its beauty; with its snowy mountains, interesting culture and language, I fell in love with travelling. In all honesty, I have to thank the book I took with me: The Demon Headmaster by Gillian Cross. I read it whenever I was nervous and overwhelmed and it gave me something to talk about to the other children. A great book overall, and whenever I see it, I remember when I read it in the wonderful hotel and the view of a snow-topped mountain.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J. K. Rowling

Time: Spring 2013

Place: Salzburg, Austria

Speaking of skiing, I went again with school when I was eighteen years old. Oh my God, is Salzburg just so breath-taking! We travelled by coach, so it took an entire day to get through England, France, Belgium and Germany to get there. On that trip, I didn’t see much of France, Belgium or Germany because we were mostly on motorways and by the time I would’ve seen more of these countries, it was night-time. When we eventually arrived in Austria, the sun was rising. Out of the darkness, the sun revealed the absolutely gorgeous snowy mountains. It reminded me of Italy and I instantly wanted to explore those mountains as I skied. Even though the hotel wasn’t as homely as the hotel in Italy, I was comfortable there thanks to the book I brought me with. Sure, I read Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban plenty of time before this trip, but it was the time when I read it in Austria that sticks out to me the most.

The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman

Time: Summer 2008

Place: Rue, France

This took place a few months after I went to Italy and was lucky enough to travel abroad again that year. I went with school again and it is one of the best memories I currently have. We explored Rue, visited an awesome aquarium called the Nausicaa, visited the local markets, took part in fitness activities such as abseiling and raft-building, visited war museums and memorials, went to a theme park called Parc Bagatelle and a massive shopping centre. I look back incredibly fondly at this holiday and I will treasure it always. It was also a very exhausting holiday and I read The Amber Spyglass in bed before I fell asleep. Well, it did take me a while to get to sleep because I couldn’t put the book down.

Horrible Histories by Terry Deary

Time: Childhood

Place: Kidwelly, Wales

My family and I visited Kidwelly a lot during my childhood, so I can’t remember when I first properly discovered Horrible Histories specifically. I say ‘properly’ because I did see it in shops and school a lot, but it wasn’t until I visited the castles and other historical places did my love of history begin to grow. I was given a Horrible Histories book (I can’t remember which one though!) during a holiday in Kidwelly and loved how funny it was. It was easy to remember facts from those Horrible Histories and yes, in case you were wondering, I do watch the TV show whenever I can. Yes, that show is aimed at children and I am a 22 year old woman.

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by J. K. Rowling

Time: Winter 2017

Place: London and Harry Potter Studios

Funny how before this trip, I travelled to other countries abroad, but never went to my country’s capital city, London. I went there with one of my best friends for my birthday and we also visited the Harry Potter Studios. That’s why I took Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. In a strange twist, I didn’t actually have time to even read it when I was there! I read it sometime after. Regardless, whenever I think about Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, I think of when I went to London and the Harry Potter Studios.

***

And these were my answers to the ‘Time and Place’ Book Tag! As I was writing this, I realised how much I loved travelling to new places and reading there. I do try to visit new places when I can and I cannot wait to experience new cultures, new languages and new books!

If you want to take part in this tag, consider yourself tagged!

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

Leave a Reply

