Posted in 2017, April, Books

Books I Aim To Read This Month (April 2017)

Hello, people of the internet!

Since my monthly series of ‘Books I Aim To Read This Month’ has been a huge success for me so far, I see no reason not to continue! It really does help control my TBR pile and, to be honest, has helped to strengthen my book-related discipline.

So, without further ado and such, here are the books I aim to have read by the end of April 2017!

The Bird Tribunal by Agnes Ravatn

 The Bird Tribunal

TWO PEOPLE. TWO SECRETS. AS THE PAST TIGHTENS ITS GRIP, THERE MAY BE NO ESCAPE…

TV presenter Allis Hagtorn leaves her partner and her career to take voluntary exile in a remote house on an isolated house on an isolated fjord. But her new job as housekeeper and gardener is not all that it seems, and her silent, surly employer, 44-year-old Sigurd Bagge, is not the old man she expected. As they await the return of his wife from her travels, their silent, uneasy encounters develop into a chilling, obsessive relationship, and it becomes clear that atonement for past sins may not be enough…

Haunting, consuming and powerful, The Bird Tribunal is a taut, exquisitely written psychological thriller that builds to a shocking, dramatic crescendo that will leave you breathless.

Its cover is subtle with is colours, but it instantly caught my attention. I have already started reading it and it is a slow start. Of course, what I mean by ‘slow’ is not a lot has happened yet. I know that, with these kinds of plots, the characters themselves have to be compelling enough for the reader to carry on. And I have to say, so far, it has worked. Allis and Sigge are both mysterious in their own ways and I cannot wait to read more.

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

Sharp Objects

It’s been a while…but Camille Preaker has finally gone home.

Sent to investigate the disappearances of two little girls Camille finds herself reluctantly installed in the family mansion, reacquainting herself with her distant mother and a precocious half-sister she barely knows. Haunted by a family tragedy, troubled by the disquieting grip her young sister has on the town. Camille struggles with a familiar need to be accepted.

But as clues turn into dead ends Camille finds herself identifying with the young victims and realises: she will have to unravel the puzzle of her own past if she’s to survive this homecoming.

Now, if I can be perfectly honest, but I do love reading stories about family dramas. I just find them more interesting personally. So, when I read the blurb to this one, I knew I would have no trouble with at least finding it intriguing enough to start reading. I had heard about Gillian Flynn’s writing and how good it was, so I thought I’d see for myself.

Speaking of Gillian Flynn…

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Gone Girl

There are two sides to every story…

Who are you? What have we done to each other?

These are the questions Nick Dunne finds himself asking on the morning of his fifth wedding anniversary, when his wife Amy suddenly disappears. The police suspect Nick. Amy’s friends reveal that she was afraid of him, that she kept secrets from him. He swears it isn’t true. A police examination of his computer shows strange searches. He says they weren’t made by him. And then there are the persistent calls on his mobile phone.

So what did happen to Nick’s beautiful wife?

I got this during my ‘must read every crime thriller I find interesting’ phase and so ended up with this a huge collection of books I thought I would read eventually. That is until I read quite a few, then came to the realisation that crime thrillers are formulaic and once I had read too many of them, they all sounded the same to me. So I decided to take crime thrillers a break and read different genres. Hence why I haven’t gotten round to reading Gone Girl…until at some point this month I will!

The Gap of Time by Jeanette Winterson

The Gap of Time

A baby girl is abandoned, banished from London to the storm-ravaged American city of New Bohemia. Her father has been driven by jealousy, her mother to exile by grief.

Seventeen years later, Perdita doesn’t know a lot about who she is or where she’s come from – but she’s about to find out.

Jeanette Winterson’s cover version of The Winter’s Tale vibrates with echoes of Shakespeare’s original and tells a story of hearts broken and hearts healed, a story of revenge and forgiveness, a story that shows us that whatever is lost shall be found.

I bought this last December because I was interested in reading a retelling of a Shakespeare story I haven’t heard of. I plan to read this first, then look up the plot to The Winter’s Tale just for the sake of sating my curiosity.

***

These are the books I aim to have read this month! Let’s hope I succeed.

Have you read any of these books? If so, what did you think of them?

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

Leave a Reply

