Posted in 2017, April, Books, Summary

April Summary

Hello, people of the internet!

I was away on holiday for the first week of April as well as Easter Weekend, so my presence on this blog has been lacking more than I anticipated. Luckily my blog hasn’t really suffered, so no problem with going on holiday once in a while!

Anyway, enough about me and my holidaying in Cumbria (again, I might as well live there), here is what I got up to in April blogging-wise!

Book Reviews:

The Bird Tribunal by Agnes Ravatn

The Bird Tribunal Logo

Click here for my full review of this psychological thriller.

Despite me not really connecting with the characters, I loved its Nordic setting and feel. I have never been to Norway, but I felt like I was there. It’s a book where not a lot happens and it focuses on the characters’ obsessive relationship. Feel free to read my full review if you want to know more.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child: Parts One and Two by J. K. Rowling, John Tiffany & Jack Thorne

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Logo

Click here for my full review of this fantasy play script.

I didn’t have a problem understanding the format of the script (I was a Creative Writing student back at University) and I enjoyed seeing the Harry Potter characters again. Even though some parts of the story felt too much like fan fiction and distracted me from the plot, I enjoyed the story regardless.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Gone Girl Logo

Click here for my full review of this crime thriller.

The twist in this story was spoiled for me before I read the book, so I put myself off reading it until recently. It was still an intriguing dark thriller with other twists to keep me reading. I haven’t seen the film yet, so if anyone has, would you recommend it?

The Gap of Time by Jeanette Winterson.

The Gap of Time Logo

Click here for my full review of this cover version of Shakespeare’s The Winter’s Tale.

For those who already familiar with The Winter’s Tale, the plot of The Gap of Time is incredibly similar to it except it’s modernised with some changes to the characters. I enjoyed this book and thought it was wonderfully written. However, there was something that I personally didn’t like. If you want to know what it is, feel free to read my full review.

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

Sharp Objects Logo

Click here to read my full review of this psychological thriller.

There are some incredibly dark characters in this book, so it just goes to show Gillian Flynn really does know how to write evil characters. Sharp Objects may not have had that any twists as Gone Girl, but I was still interested enough to keep reading it.

Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

Dark Places Logo

Click here to read my full review of this psychological thriller.

Despite the fact I have some problems with this books, I did enjoy it, even if one part of the twist felt last minute. The main character, Libby, goes through a very well-written character development, in that I couldn’t stand her at the beginning, but then connected with her more as the story progressed.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

The Hate U Give Logo

Click here to read my full review of this young adult, contemporary novel.

I’ve always wanted to read more diverse books and was incredibly happy when I came across The Hate U Give. It is an intelligent book with loveable characters. Everyone should read this book. Anyone can learn a lot from it.

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Everything Everything Logo

Click here to read my full review of this young adult, romance novel.

This book is absolutely gorgeous with its cover and illustrations. It has a good twist and a romance I rooted for from the moment they met. From someone who doesn’t read that many romance novels, this book is wonderful!

Other Posts:

My Friday Thoughts – Reader Problems Book Tag

 Reader Problems Book Tag Logo

Books That Have Stayed – The Night Circus

The Night Circus Logo

My Friday Thoughts – What I Do When I’m In A Reading Slump

What I Do When I'm In A Reading Slump Logo

***

I hope you enjoyed this April; I certainly did. Now, bring it on, May! I’m ready for you!

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

Leave a Reply

