Posted in 2017, BEDM, Books, May

Books I Aim To Read This Month (May 2017)

Hello, people of the internet!

My monthly series ‘Books I Aim To Read This Month’ has been very successful yet again since it forces me to read books I bought ages ago and, for some reason, keep putting myself off reading them.

Let’s hope that May is another successful month!

So, here are the four books I aim to read this month!Daughter by Jane Shemilt

Daughter

The night of the disappearance.

She used to tell me everything.

They have a picture. It’ll help.

But it doesn’t show the way her hair shines so brightly it looks like sheets of gold.

She smells very faintly of lemons.

She bites her nails.

She never cries.

She loves autumn, I wanted to tell them. She collects leaves, like a child does. She is just a child.

FIND HER.

One year later.

Naomi is still missing. Jenny is a mother on the brink of obsession. The Malcolm family is in pieces.

Is finding the truth about Naomi the only way to put them together?

Or is the truth the thing that will finally tear them apart?

I am already reading this book and, honestly, it’s not a good start. It’s only the mystery that is keeping me reading even though I don’t find the characters that interesting yet and it’s constantly miserable. Of course, the plot and subject is supposed to be miserable, but I have read similar books that aren’t constantly miserable and balance the emotions a lot better; to not have a balance set of emotions as well as uninteresting characters can be a problem. But once I’ve finished reading, I will have a better, more clear opinion on it.

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

Big Little Lies

It was always going to end in tears, but how did it end in murder?

Single mum Jane has just moved to town. She’s got her little boy in town – plus the secret she’s been carrying for five years.

On the first day of the school run she meets Madeline – a force to be reckoned with, who remembers everything and forgives no one – and Celeste, the kind of beautiful woman who makes the world stop and stare, but is inexplicably ill at ease. They both take Jane under their wing – while careful to keep their own secrets under wraps.

But a minor incident involving the children of all three women rapidly escalates: playground whispers become spiteful rumours until no one can tell the truth from the lies.

Which is when the secrets come out – and now someone is going to pay with their life…

I previously read The Husband’s Secret also by Liane Moriarty, which I did really enjoy. I bought Big Little Lies a while ago and, ever since the miniseries of the same name was released not too long ago, I decided it was time to finally read it.

On The Other Side by Carrie Hope Fletcher

On The Other Side

Evie Snow is eighty-two when she quietly passes away in her sleep. It’s the way most people wish to leave the world, but when Evie reaches the door of her own private heaven, she finds that she’s become her twenty-seven-year-old self and the door won’t open.

Evie’s soul must be light enough to pass through so she needs to get rid of whatever is making it heaving. For Evie, this means unburdening herself of the three secrets which have weighed her down for over fifty before it’s too late. As Evie begins the journey of a lifetime, she learns more about life and love than she ever thought possible, and somehow, some way, she may also find her way back to the only man she ever truly loved…

I have heard good things about this book as well as Carrie Hope Fletcher herself, so I’m going to see for myself if this is to my taste.

Call It Dog by Marli Roode

Call It Dog

Jo returns to South Africa after ten years in the UK to cover the riots sweeping the Jo’burg township of Alex. Nico, her estranged Afrikaner father, makes contact: he needs her help in proving his innocence in the murder of a black man abducted by the security forces decades earlier. As they set off on a road trip through the now-unfamiliar landscape, Jo begins to wonder if she is Nico’s accomplice, or his captive. Against the backdrop of a country struggling to absorb its bloody history, Call It Dog asks whether justice and truth are more important than the bonds of loyalty and love, and explores what it is like to feel you no longer in the land of your birth – or to your own family.

I haven’t read a story like this before and I really wanted to learn something new about post-Apartheid South Africa. I have read stories set in South Africa before and they were pretty good. I can’t wait to read this one!

***

And these are the books I want to have read by the end of May!

Thank you for reading!

 

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

Leave a Reply

