Posted in 2017, BEDM, May, Quotes, Writing

Top 5 Favourite Writing Quotes

Hello, people of the internet!

For those who don’t know, I want to be a published writer one day. Writing stories has always been a hobby for me and whenever I write, I’m content. Sure, I do get stressed out when something isn’t coming together or I can’t figure out what to write about, but writing is nonetheless very important to me. When I don’t write, I’m not complete. That’s honestly how I feel about it.

So, I have some very inspirational and/or relatable quotes about writing that I love and want to share with you.

1) “If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.”

– Toni Morrison

I believe in this quote in particular so much! My stories mostly tend to come from what I wanted to read, but I couldn’t find a book out there like it, so why not write the story you want to read for yourself? I do talk about how I want stories that are different and make people think, so that’s why I try my very best to do that.

2) “I know I was writing stories when I was five. I don’t know what I did before that. Just loafed, I supposed.”

– P. G. Wodehouse

Honestly, I don’t remember a time when I wasn’t writing something. In fact, looking back at my stories I write when I was very young, they don’t make any sense, but I’m very fond of them. I always wrote and told stories when I was a child. I made friends because I told stories to them. The more I think about it, the more I realise how relatable this quote actually is.

3) “Who wants to become a writer? And why? Because it’s the answer to everything. … It’s the streaming reason for living. To note, to pin down, to build up, to create, to be astonished at nothing, to cherish the oddities, to let nothing go down the drain, to make something, to make a great flower out of life, even if it’s a cactus.”

– Enid Bagnold

This quote just makes a lot of sense to me. It is something I try to do on a daily basis. The moment I saw this quote, I fell in love with it. It’s not every day one finds themselves in quotes.

4) “In writing, you must kill all your darlings.”

– William Faulkner

I was first told this quote when I was a Creative Writing student at University. It means that even if you have written a beautiful passage and you’re so proud of how it has turned out, if it slows down the story and it disrupts the flow, you have to get rid of it. All my tutors had their own variations of this quote, such as “kill your babies”, (boy, we sound like a sadistic bunch!), but it’s true. For the greater good of your story, you must kill your darlings.

5) “Exercise the writing muscle every day, even if it is only a letter, notes, a title list, a character sketch, a journal entry. Writers are like dancers, like athletes. Without that exercise, the muscles seize up.”

– Jane Yolen

Keeping a writing schedule is important. It’s different for each writer; some write a little every day and others write, let’s say, once a week, but write a lot. I try to write something every day, even if it’s a small amount. I like this particular quote because Jane Yolen mentions dancers and, since I am a dancer, it not only relates to my writing exercises, but also my dancing exercises.

***

And these are my Top 5 favourite writing quotes! I hope you liked them as much as I do! Maybe one day, I’ll have them as a print to decorate my writing desk. (Imagine the ‘killing your darlings’ quote in fancy cursive? That’s actually a little amusing to me.)

Do you have any quotes about writing that you like?

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

Leave a Reply

