Posted in 2017, Authors, BEDM, Books, May

Authors Whose Books I Want To Read More Of

Hello, people of the internet!

This year has been very successful in terms of being introduced to authors and reading their work for the first time. For the majority of the time, this has been a perfect first impression and so have left me wanting to read more of their work. So, I decided to discuss these authors, who I discovered this year, and explain why I want to read more of their work.

Without further ado (I love that phrase so much), here are authors whose books I want to read more of.

V. E. Schwab (Victoria Schwab)

The first book of hers I read was This Savage Song – here is my full review if you wish to read it. Despite the majority of the novel being set up for the rest of the series (such as how this fantasy world works, who the characters are, etc.), I connected with the characters and understood the world they live in – now I can’t wait to read the rest of the series! I also recently bought another book of hers, A Darker Shade of Magic, a book I really want to read as soon as possible!

Catherine Webb (Claire North and Kate Griffin)

Her real name being Catherine Webb, she writes books under the names of Claire North and Kate Griffin as well as Catherine Webb. The first book I read of hers was The Sudden Appearance of Hope (click here to read my full review), a book I thoroughly enjoyed. It was imaginative, intelligent and emotional. I bought another book of hers, The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August – another book I can’t wait to read. Because her writing is brilliant and imaginative, I’m going to look for her books that are written under the names Kate Griffin and Catherine Webb because I have a strong feeling they are just as well written.

Claire Fuller

The first book I read of hers was Our Endless Numbered Days – click here to read my full review. It wasn’t what I expected (in a good way, of course) and I appreciated how she dealt with the plot twist at the end – it would be triggering, especially as it deals with a very sensitive issue, but thankfully Claire Fuller gives the reader clues throughout the whole book that are written well and not blatantly obvious. I am after her other book, Swimming Lessons, which was published earlier this year.

David Mitchell

Throughout the years of wandering into bookshops and spending quite a bit of time there, I have seen David Mitchell’s books. I have wanted to read his work, but I was worried to buy a big book and then find out I’m not a huge fan of his writing. That’s why I decided to get Slade House – it was a smaller book of his and so thought it was a good book to start with. Click here to read my full review – I read that book in practically a day! The way he interlinks the five stories together is incredibly clever! Now, I want to read the rest of his work, especially Cloud Atlas! 

Kazuo Ishiguro

Arguably, Kazuo Ishiguro’s more popular book is Never Let Me Go. I can say why there was a lot of hype and love for this book as it deals with complex, existential issues and has relatable characters. I have yet to see the film (for those who have seen it, is it worth a watch?), but if I had the time to reread it, I would! There are so many beautiful written and intelligent quotes, I have actually made a note of them. Here is my full review.

Nina LaCour

I have talked a lot about We Are Okay, the first book by Nina LaCour I have read. It’s hard to add anything new as to why I love this book so much. There is just so much raw emotion in We Are Okay – grief, anger, happiness, etc. There is just a perfect balance between the emotions that each emotion doesn’t affect the book’s overall tone too much. For example, there are miserable moments, but the book itself isn’t miserable. We Are Okay is another book I want to reread. Feel free to read my full review if you want to know more.

Nicola Yoon

Everything, Everything is the first book I’ve read of Nicola Yoon’s. It was kind of a big risk for me since I have never been a huge fan of the romance genre. Yet I fell in love with Everything, Everything. Just like We Are Okay, there is a perfect balance of emotions and I truly cared for its characters! The illustrations are simple yet very lovely to look at. As for the ending? Let me tell you, I actually said, “aww!” out loud. Here is my full review if you are interested in this book.

Angie Thomas

Her debut novel, The Hate U Give, has been incredibly popular since its release and rightfully so! Anyone from any culture can learn from this book as well as the problems in today’s society. Once I started reading The Hate U Give, I couldn’t put it down! I have met Angie Thomas at a book signing and she is a very funny, intelligent woman. Here is my full review of The Hate U Give, if you want to know more about it.

Stephanie Garber

Caraval is Stephanie Garber’s first novel and one I also really enjoyed. I couldn’t predict what was going to happen and was enchanted by the Caraval itself and its performers. As I was reading it, I felt I was there exploring the Caraval and its wonders. I also met Stephanie Garber at a book signing and she was a lovely woman. Here is my full review of Caraval and here is my post about the Caraval book event!

Gillian Flynn

April this year was sort of Gillian Flynn month for me since I read all three of her current books. She definitely knows how to write evil characters as well as dark storylines. While some had more twists than others, I enjoyed each book. Here is my full review of Gone Girl, here is my full review of Sharp Objects and here is my full review of Dark Places.

***

And those were the authors I discovered this year and whose books I want to read more of! Which authors are your favourites?

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

5 thoughts on “Authors Whose Books I Want To Read More Of

  1. Hi there ! I don’t normally do this but I had to comment and tell you how much I adore your blog! I just came across it now and I am so happy I have, it is so wonderful and you truly have a great blog. I am going to follow you so I can keep up to date with all of your latest posts. Keep up the great work!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Aww you are so welcome! You have a wonderful blog. Do you have Twitter or Instagram? I just made accounts and would love to follow you!

        Like

Leave a Reply

