Posted in 2017, BEDM, Books, Classic, May

Classic Books I Want To Read

Hello, people of the internet!

I have read my fair share of classic books, such as The Great Gatsby, 1984, Animal Farm, To Kill A Mockingbird and Of Mice and Men. I’ve either read these because of school or because I wanted to read them in my spare time, but there are other classics that I’ve heard are brilliant and deserve to be classics that I’ve never read. As I mentioned in my “Genres I Should Read More Of” post, to read more classic is one of my reading targets.

So, here are the classic books I really want to read!

Alice’s Adventure in Wonderland (Alice in Wonderland) by Lewis Carroll

I’ve seen many film versions, and even recently seen a play version in Manchester, based on the book, but I’ve never read the book. I even had the book in my collection for years, since I was a child, but I’ve yet to read it! Maybe it’ll be one of the books I pick for my “Books I Aim To Read This Month” post?

Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger

This book is a coming-of-age story about teenage angst and alienation. I’ve heard many great things about this book and I know it’s something I would like. All I need to do is get a copy – but then again if I bought every book I wanted, I’d have no money and would be homeless since my books would fill my entire house. Catcher in the Rye is definitely on my TBR list and it will stay there until I actually get the book!

Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens

Back when I was in high school, we were taught about Oliver Twist and its subject matter, its use of language, why the author described this in this way and what it symbolises, *insert other thing I was taught to analyse in English Literature here*. We watched a film and read extracts, but we never read the entire book. I’ve always been interested in the story itself, so I want read the entire thing at some point!

The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame

Again with Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, I have seen a few film versions of The Wind in the Willows, but have not read the book. I have loved its story, mainly because I love animals in general and I never got bored of watching the films over and over again as a child. Now, as an adult, I would love to read the book!

The Island of Doctor Moreau by H. G. Wells

I watched a Halloween episode of The Simpsons, which had a section adapted from The Island of Doctor Moreau, and I absolutely loved it. As a child, I had no idea it was based on a book, so the moment I found out, quite recently to be honest, that it was – it was immediately put on my TBR list! Also, I haven’t read anything of H. G. Wells, so hopefully The Island of Doctor Moreau is a good book to start with.

And these are the classic books I want to read! Which classic books would you recommend? Have you read any of the books I’ve mentioned?

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

2 thoughts on “Classic Books I Want To Read

Leave a Reply

