Posted in 2017, BEDM, Books, May

Reading Habits I Want To Gain

Hello, people of the internet!

As a book blogger, it’s safe to say that I read a lot. I try to read at least four books a month since I have a lot of books in my TBR pile (yes, not a list, a pile – I have a problem) to get through. But there are reading habits that I’ve seen other readers have that I wish I have, so it’ll make my reading experience even more enjoyable and varied.

So, here’s a little list of reading habits I think I can benefit from and, who knows, maybe you could as well?

Read a little every day

For me, it takes ages for me to fully focus on a book. I have concentration problems and I get very easily distracted, so when I read, I have to be in a place where I can easily zone out. I’ve taught myself to even read on public transport, though I still find it easier to read at home in silence. Anyway, what I’m trying to say is that once I’m completely focused in a book, I read lots in one sitting. It wouldn’t be a problem if I read quickly. There have been times when I’ve not done anything apart from read a book. In terms of productivity, it’s not a lot, especially if the chores I wanted to do haven’t been done. Of course, there is nothing wrong with reading all day if it happens once or twice, but honestly, this has happened to me quite a lot. It would be better if instead of reading huge chunks, I should read a small, certain amount, so I can get other things completed as well as read a book.

Read before bed

I have heard that reading a book before you fall asleep is very good for you, but I don’t do it a lot. I instead listen to music. However, it doesn’t always help me fall asleep or even feel tired. I think it’s because I am a dancer; when I listen to music, I make up my own dancing routine in my head. That makes me happy, but it also keeps me awake. So, I should try reading before I fall asleep and see if my sleeping pattern improves.

Make notes as I’m reading

As a book blogger, I write a lot of book reviews. So when I’m reading and come across something I want to talk about…I don’t make notes. I tend to think, “I’ll remember it when I’m actually writing up my review”. It’s strange because when I was at University, I made notes as I was reading, so why shouldn’t I do the same thing with my blog? I really want to start doing this in order to improve my book reviews.

Read a lot more poetry

I read novels, novellas and short stories, but I need to read more poetry, especially out loud if I can. There are some poetry collections on my TBR, so I will get to read more poetry at some point – hopefully sooner rather than later because I do miss reading it.

Go to more libraries

Libraries was one of my favourite places to go to when I was a child. It was quiet enough for me to concentrate on books and I found books that weren’t in any shops. I hate to think I don’t like doing it anymore, but it’s something I need to do again. I’ll get me out of the house more and also have a little walk.

***

And those were the reading habits I want to gain! What are your reading habits?

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

Leave a Reply

