Posted in 2017, BEDM, Books, May

Reading Habits I Want To Lose

Hello, people of the internet!

Yesterday, I uploadedĀ a post about reading habits I wanted to gain in order to improve my reading experiences. But if I want to gain some good reading habits, surely I want to lose some bad ones too?

Why, yes I do! And here they are.

Judging a book by the length of its chapters

I prefer to read books with shortish chapters. If a book has chapters longer than, for example, 15 pages, I struggle to get into them. Even though I have read books with very long chapters, they took me longer to read and I lost interest quicker. If I find the story and characters incredibly interesting, then it isn’t the biggest problem, but I still find myself thinking, “…so when is this chapter going to end?”

Judging a book by its cover

I know, I know! I know not to judge people by their appearance, but I judge books by their cover! Whenever I go book shopping, the first thing that grabs my attention is the cover. And if the cover isn’t to my taste? I don’t even read the blurb. What if the story is the best thing I will ever read and yet I wouldn’t give it a chance because I didn’t like the cover? I don’t want to lose a chance to discover new stories and authors because of this. This is definitely one of my worst reading habits!

Not getting rid of books!

I have a problem. Yes, I still have books I read years ago that are close to my heart that I want to keep, but what about the books I thought were mediocre or even terrible? I still have them…Why though??? I don’t even know yet I’m the one keeping them! I would have a lot more space if I did pass them on to someone else! I should go to charity shops or something, so those books could find better homes.

Skipping to the last page

Okay, I have to admit: sometimes when I’m too curious about what’s going to happen, I read the last page of the book…It doesn’t even do any good because it never makes any sense unless I’ve read the entire book! It’s a very weird, nonsensical habit that I would love to get rid of. In fact, does anyone else do this or is it just me?

Only sticking to certain genres

I have said previously in other posts that I don’t tend to have a favourite genre yet I tend to read some genres more than others. They are often thrillers, fantasy, mystery, crime and the like. Yet I have been reading more romances and comedies and it’s improving not only my reading experience, but I feel it will also improve my writing. Maybe I will write something more light-hearted?

***

And those were my reading habits I want to lose. Whether or not I do is another thing, but I think there is no harm in trying, especially with the whole ‘skipping to the last page’ – seriously, that needs to stop.

What are your bad reading habits?

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

5 thoughts on “Reading Habits I Want To Lose

  1. I am terrible at skipping to the last page! It’s a really bad habit and I usually end up ruining the book for myself but I just can’t help it haha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

