Posted in 2017, BEDM, Books, May, My Friday Thoughts, Non-Fiction

My Friday Thoughts – Non-Fiction I Want To Read

Hello, people of the internet!

A few days ago, I uploaded a ‘Classic Books I Want To Read‘ post and now I want to upload a post about a different kind of genre: the non-fiction!

There was a time when I read more non-fiction than fiction – I think I was about 10 or 11 years old – when I swapped around. Now I read a lot more fiction than I do read non-fiction.

So, here are the non-fiction books that I really want to read!

The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank

Anne Frank’s diary is incredibly well-known, and rightfully so, as Anne Frank’s diary has become a voice for many Jewish people during the Holocaust. I remember learning about the topic back in school; it was a tough subject to get through emotionally despite being interested in what had happened. Anne Frank’s diary is a book I have always wanted to read, therefore this book is definitely on my TBR list.

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

I have heard so much praise towards this book, which is an autobiography about a neurosurgeon who is diagnosed with inoperable lung cancer. I haven’t read an autobiography concerning terminal cancer before and I just know from the blurb that it’s going to be an emotional read.

I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou

When I bought this book, I didn’t know that it was an autobiography about a black woman growing up in the 1930s and suffers through racism and sexual assault – I didn’t read the blurb and decided to get it because of what I heard about it. I have always wanted to read more diverse books, so I will read this book soon!

How To Be A Victorian by Ruth Goodman

I was an absolute history nerd – no matter where or when it happened, I want to know about it! (I don’t know if that makes me curious or just nosy…) If I had to pick which period of history is my favourite, I would pick the Victorian era. Back when I was a young child, I looked forward to going into school more because we were learning about the Victorians. When I saw this book and read it was about how the common Victorian people lived, I just had to get it!

At Home (A Short History of Private Life) by Bill Bryson

Even though I loved History back in school, we were taught about the political side to it. I wasn’t as interested in political history as I was in social history, which is about how people lived. I want to know how people lived years ago and where the everyday things we do today came from! Thanks to this book, I will learn more…once I read it, that is. But hopefully it will be soon!

Trench Talk (Words of the First World War) by Peter Doyle and Julian Walker

Am I the only one who sees a word and wonders, “Where did that word come from?” So when I found out that many words in the modern English language originated from the language used in the trenches during the First World War, I wanted to know more. Now that I finally have the book in my possession (and that I have more discipline when it comes to actually reading the books I get), I will know more.

The First World War A-Z

Written by the staff from the Imperial War Museums comes a book where it gives you a quick overview of everything you need to know about the First World War. This is another history topic that I am always interested in knowing more yet gets me very emotional. It is a small book of 179 pages, so I can read this in about a day if I wanted too…and I do want to.

Danubia (A Personal History of Habsburg Europe) by Simon Winder

When I saw this book in a book shop, I had absolutely no idea what Danubia or Habsburg Europe meant. It turns out it refers to where the Habsburg family ruled: Central Europe and Germany. I have no knowledge of this area of history, so I had to get it! When I read the blurb and found it promised strange true stories about not only the strange Habsburg family, but the people and the countries they had ruled, I know this was a book for me. All I have to do now is read it!

And those are the non-fiction books I want to read! Do you read non-fiction?

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

Leave a Reply

