Posted in 2017, BEDM, Books, May

My Top 5 Favourite Book Quotes

Hello, people of the internet!

Today’s post will be short today, but nonetheless fun (hopefully). I’ve always wondered what my favourite book quotes are and, for some reason, I don’t automatically think of anything. I have to really think about the book itself and which quotes I remember the most.

It’s harder than I thought. I really need to note my favourite quotes down more often.

Anyway, enough about me and my lack of favourite-book-quote memory recall skills, here are my top 5 favourite book quotes!

As some quotes are at the end of the book and some of my explanations of why they’re my favourite are spoilers, I will add a spoiler warning here.

5)

“The creatures outside looked from pig to man, and from man to pig, and from pig to man again; but already it was impossible to say which was which.”

Animal Farm, George Orwell

I was taught Animal Farm back in school, but we only read excerpts. When I got the book, I decided it was time to read the entire thing. It was the first book I read of George Orwell’s and loved how intelligent it was. This quote in particular ended the book perfectly as it shows how the initial goal of the farm animals to improve their lives and gain equality for everyone ultimately failed and that they are back as they were in the very beginning.

4)

He loved Big Brother.”

1984, George Orwell

Since I am still on the subject of George Orwell, I read 1984 in my free time and was shocked at how scary I found it! There are themes that are relevant in today’s society, so it’s very understandable why this book is still talked about today. Of all the dystopian novels I’ve read, 1984 is the one future I do not want to happen the most! (Or is it already happening with its constant surveillance cameras???) Anyway, this quote is one of my favourites because it sums up just how awful Big Brother and the party really are: at first, Winston hates the regime and wishes to change it for the better, only for Big Brother and the party to completely ruin him and destroy what he hoped for. Just goes to show how clever George Orwell’s writing can be.

3)

Your stories this evening, they touched me…Poor creatures. I wish I could help you. But now you’re by yourselves.”

Never Let Me Go, Kazuo Ishiguro

This quote in particular struck me. There was hope throughout the majority of Never Let Me Go for the main characters and it sums up the hopelessness of all the characters involved. This quote alone sums up the cruelty of their world and the humanity in the main characters that the rest of their world wishes to ignore so they can continue harvesting their organs. I love Never Let Me Go, with its wonderfully written passages such as this one.

2)

I don’t look up. It’s such a little thing – knowing where to put cutlery – but I feel like I’ve failed an important test. A little piece of me is gone.”

Elizabeth is Missing, Emma Healey

Maud, who is implied to have dementia, is an elderly old lady who is struggling to remember things. Even though Maud’s narrative can be very repetitive, understandably so, what Maud says is very thought-provoking, such as this quote. It demonstrates what dementia and losing independence can do to not only to the person it is happening to, which I think isn’t always talked about. The rest of the book is well written, but it is this quote that stood out to me.

1)

I wish you all a long and happy life.”

The Lovely Bones, Alice Sebold

For those who don’t know, The Lovely Bones is one of my favourite books. I wrote a post about it and how it has stayed with me after I first read it about seven years ago. The quote on its own is lovely, but since it’s coming from Susie Salmon, who was raped and murdered when she was fourteen and the book is about her watching her family and friends cope with her death from her personal heaven, it means so much more. I love this quote so much, I have it as a print.

***

And these are my Top 5 favourite book quotes. Funny how small quotes can say so much more.

What are your favourite book quotes?

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

Leave a Reply

