Posted in 2017, BEDM, Books, May, Tags

“What Cats Do” Book Tag

Hello, people of the internet!

A blog I follow, Sophie @ Blame Chocolate, recently did this tag and it was fun to read! She tagged anybody who wants to do it and so…have a guess who does?

Before I begin this tag, can I just say I love cats?

…Yes I can. I love cats! So, this tag is just right for me!

Rules:

– If you do this tag, please credit Kate @ meltingpotsandothercalamities

– Answer the questions

– And tag as many people as you like

Purr – As cats do this when they’re happy or relaxed, what is the book that makes you happiest or relaxed?

They would definitely have to be Matt Sewell’s bird books! They’re just so gorgeous to look at! Here’s my post where I discuss why if you want to know more.

Picture2

Sleep – What is a book that put you to sleep or was just boring?

It would have to be Sarah Perry’s After Me Comes The Flood. I didn’t understand what it was about and I didn’t connect with its character as much as I hoped. It just wasn’t my kind of book.

after-me-comes-the-flood

Twitch while dreaming – Have you ever dreamt of a book you read?

I don’t dream about books often, but I did recently have a dream about David Mitchell’s Slade House. It’s considered to be a horror book, so my dream wasn’t the most pleasant, but at least it was memorable!

 Slade House Picture

Seems to play nice…Until the claws are out – Which book had the biggest plot twist(s)?

For me, it would have to be The Girls With All The Gifts by M. R. Carey. I read this book without knowing anything about it and was continuously surprised throughout the whole book and couldn’t predict where it was going.

The Girl With All The Gifts

Cuddles – Which book character would you give a hug to?

I want to give August Flynn from V. E. Schwab’s This Savage Song. All he wants is to be human and is ashamed of the fact that he is actually a monster. He is a very likeable character and if I could give him a hug I would (if he wanted a hug, of course!)

this-savage-song

Catnip – What’s a book that made you have warm and fuzzy feels?

I would pick Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. I love that book to pieces and I absolutely so sweet it is! Especially the ending!!! Oh, the feels…

Everything Everything Picture 2

Cat breeds – What are your favourite books?

Oh, I have all sorts of favourites, it’s hard to pick! I’ll give you a short answer: The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold, We Are Okay by Nina LaCour, The Bone Collector by Jeffery Deaver, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon, Coraline by Neil Gaiman, The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern and the Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling.

(That’s not quite a short answer, is it?)

Getting the cat – How did you find your favourite book(s)?

All sorts of ways! I’ve find them through recommendations, by finding them for the first time in a book shop or given as gifts.

The vet’s office – Your least favourite book:

Daughter by Jane Shemilt. It simply wasn’t my kind my book and I honestly got quite angry with it. I explain why in my review, which you can read here.

Daughter

Being in places they shouldn’t – Least favourite cliché:

Erm…Honestly? …I have quite a few…

Just for this tag, I’ll only mention one and perhaps I’ll have a whole post dedicated to them.

‘The detective with a dark past and distant to family’ is my least favourite. I discussed this tropes recently with Zuky @ Bookbum and we both agree it’s overused. Seriously, are there no detectives with relatively normal pasts and happy relationships in crime thrillers? Are having a dark past and being distant to family essential job requirements to be a detective?

No, I’m very sorry. You were unsuccessful in obtaining the job position of detective. You have a normal past and you’re close to your family and friends. Your narration and character surely wouldn’t be interesting enough.”

Okay, rant over. I promise.

Final question: The good old cardboard box – most underrated book series:

Hmm. I would have to say The Demon Headmaster series. I read these when I was younger and I thought they were a lot of fun to read! I don’t hear that many people talking about them and I think they’re great books for older kids to read!

***

And these are my answers to the What Cats Do book tag. This tag is a lot of fun! If you liked this tag, I tag you! Remember to credit Kate @ meltingpotsandothercalamities when you do it!

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

5 thoughts on ““What Cats Do” Book Tag

  1. Oh, loved your take on this tag! Cat lovers everywhere ❤
    Sewell's books sound sooo adorable! I really need to read This Savage Song but I wanted to finish the Shades of Magic series first.
    I also love the fact that Everything, Everything's cover has a "Read it before you see the film" sticker 🙂
    Thank you so much for the mention, Gemma! I'm glad you decided to do this! ^^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Cats for the win!
      I really recommend Matt Sewell’s books, they’re so cute! And I haven’t read the Shades of Magic series yet, but I have A Darker Shade Of Magic, I can’t wait to read it.
      And funny story, when I was taking the photo of the Everything Everything cover, I tried to peel that off…honestly spend a good few minutes too before I realised it was part of the cover 😆 Oh well, I really want to see the film!
      You’re welcome! I really liked your answers!

      Like

Leave a Reply

