Posted in 2017, BEDM, Books, May, Tags

The Aesthetically Pleasing Book Tag

Hello, people of the internet!

As some of you may know, but I love doing tags. You can learn a lot about the bloggers who answer them as well be introduced to new books.

I found this tag whilst exploring what book tags there are. It was created by Book Syrup on YouTube, where you can find the original video.

Since I love book covers, I thought I would answer them!

For the sake of various answers from different book, I will choose a different book for each question.

Best colour combo on a book cover

A Reunion of Ghosts by Judith Claire Mitchell

Reunion of Ghosts

I love how the colours blend together; it just looks beautiful! I don’t know about you, but I think it’s not a very common colour combo, but I think it should be. I can’t stop looking at it.

Best typography/font on a book cover

How To Be A Victorian by Ruth Goodman

Victorian

The font is very Victorian and it suits the illustrations that are on the cover itself. The way it’s positioned on the book suits the style as well. The font just works for the subject matter! I just love everything Victorian: it’s so interesting.

Best simple cover

The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

The Husband's Secret

It’s one of the most simple book covers I have in my collection and I love how it looks. I can’t remember if the butterfly in the jar has any significance to the story – I read the story a few years ago – but I love how the colour of the butterfly contrasts with the rest of the cover.

Best endpages

Penguins and other Seabirds by Matt Sewell

Penguins

JUST LOOK HOW CUTE THOSE PENGUINS ARE!!! There are different species of penguins on the endpages and they are just as cute as the rest of the illustrations!

Best map

The Girl of Ink & Stars by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

The Girl of Ink and Stars

The inside pages of this page are just gorgeous and the map is the best one of them all. It is simple, but it adds to the story as well as the characters of Isabella and her father, who create maps.

Best naked hardback

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

caraval-tent

I have mentioned Caraval’s secret naked hardback covers quite a bit, but I still love it! There are, the last time I checked, 5 secret covers that are hidden underneath the sleeve of the hardback cover of Caraval.

Best back cover

Half Bad by Sally Green

Half Bad

I have been meaning to get myself the sequels because I do like Half Bad. In terms of the covers, I liked how the back cover works with the front cover in order to symbolise the heritage of the main character, Nathan (who is the son of a White Witch and a Black Witch).

Best chapter headers

Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey

Elizabeth is Missing

They are simple chapter headers, but they add more to the story. They are of objects that not only occur in the story, but actually contribute to the plot and remind the forgettable Maud of important events.

Best illustrations

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Everything

I love the illustrations in Everything, Everything! They are simple, but add character to the book and give it an extra cute factor – of course, the story itself already kind of cute!

Best spine

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

THUG

I don’t have a lot of decorative spines, but my favourite has to be The Hate U Give. It shows what the first letters of each word of the title says, spelling out ‘thug’, which is a reference to Tupac. Not only does this serve as one of the inspirations of the book, but is also mentioned a few times throughout the story.

Favourite cover on your shelves

Slade House by David Mitchell

Slade House Picture

I explain this in my ‘My Top 5 Book Covers‘ post more, but the reason why this cover is my favourite is because every time I look at it, I find something new that I didn’t notice the first time.

***

And these are my answers to the Aesthetically Pleasing Book Tag! I tag everyone who loves this tag and wants to have a go answering the questions themselves!

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

Leave a Reply

