Posted in 2017, BEDM, Books, Characters, May, Top 5

My Top 5 Elderly Book Characters

Hello, people of the internet!

I have all sorts of favourite characters, whether they be young or old, good or evil or somewhere in between. Today’s post will focus on book characters of the older generation because I often find they are some of the most fun and interesting characters in books.

So, here are my Top 5 Elderly Book Characters!

5) Ananke

The Wicked and the Divine written by Kieron Gillen and illustrated by Jamie McKelvie

This comic book series is about how every ninety years, twelve gods and goddesses are reincarnated as young people who become famous and are given supernatural powers, but will die within two years. This is called the Reoccurrence. And who guides these gods and goddesses and even chooses who becomes a god or goddess is Ananke, who gave up her divinity thousands of years ago to look after and guide every god and goddess who gets reincarnated. Unlike the other gods and goddesses, who are young people, Ananke is portrayed as an elderly woman. There is a huge mysterious atmosphere when it comes to Ananke and she is cunning, but she will do whatever is necessary. As this series is on-going, I am sure more information about Ananke will be revealed, but for now, I find Ananke is to be a very intriguing character who I want to know more about.

4) Maud

Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey

I have mentioned Maud a lot on my blog, who is implied to be suffering from dementia and struggles to live independently with her short term memory loss. But despite these memory problems, she remembers when she was young and when her sister mysteriously disappeared. And only she can solve the mystery. Even though Maud’s main goal is to find her friend, Elizabeth, her search is intertwined with her sister’s disappearance. Understandably, Maud’s narrative in the present can be repetitive, but she is a lovable character despite this. She can be witty and is cares about Elizabeth a lot and loves her family. I really enjoy Maud’s character, hence why Elizabeth is Missing is one of my favourite books.

3) Professor McGonagall

The Harry Potter Series by J. K. Rowling

As a Harry Potter fan, it was obvious that a character from the series is a part of my list. There are plenty of elderly characters in the series, but personally I’ve always enjoyed Professor McGonagall more. She is stern and someone you dare not mess with, but she can be caring and very witty. Some of my favourite Harry Potter quotes are from Professor McGonagall! As a Gryffindor (I made a whole post about sorting myself into Pottermore, which you can read here), I would love to have Professor McGonagall to be the Head of my house! And let me tell you, her age doesn’t stop her being from a complete badass!

And speaking of badasses…

2) Grandmother

The Witches by Roald Dahl

I love Roald Dahl’s books, and The Witches is one of my favourites from him. The reason why is because of Grandmother, who throughout her adult life has fought against witches in order to protect children from horrific fates. Even as an old woman, she is a force to be reckoned with as she fiercely defends her orphaned grandson from anything, including witches, the Grand High Witch herself and the antagonistic hotel manager. She feels guilty when her grandson is turned into a mouse, which is the biggest mistake the Grand High Witch and the witches ever made since Grandmother is a determined, intelligent lady who plots with her grandson to destroy the Grand High Witch and every other witch once and for all to protect other children from the same fate!

1) Mr Tom

Goodnight Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian

I was introduced to Goodnight Mister Tom when I was a little older and I first saw the film adaptation, which I adore just as much, before I read the book. During World War II, a boy, William Beech, who is being abused by his mother, is sent away to live in the countryside to live with Mister Tom, an elderly widowed recluse. Can I just say that Tom is an absolute sweetheart! He is grumpy and still bitter about the deaths of his wife and baby son forty years prior, but when he realises how abused and lonely William is, he treats William with kindness and educates him. Tom is successful as William begins to thrive. The lengths Tom goes to give William a good home is adoring to read. It warms my heart just thinking about the story, especially about Tom. His character development is perfect for the story being told. I would recommend checking this book out!

***

And these are my top 5 elderly characters!

Have you read any of these books? Who are your favourite elderly characters?

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

Leave a Reply

