Posted in 2017, BEDM, Books, May, My Friday Thoughts, Sci-Fi, Thrillers

My Friday Thoughts – The Book That Made Me A Reader Again

Hello, people of the internet!

I’ve been thinking recently about my whole reading experience, as in my reading experience throughout my whole life. I tend to say that I have always been a reader from the moment I began to read, but that isn’t strictly true. Heck, if I had always been a reader, then the book that made me a reader would be The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle (which is legendary, by the way).

I hit a year long reading slump during my early teenage years, which is the longest reading slump I encountered so far. I changed as a person and the books I used to read became nostalgic, but not something I would read on a daily basis. Other people began to read romances, but at the time, it wasn’t my kind of book. I still read books, like the Harry Potter series, but not as often as I once did. For someone who always had a book to read to suddenly go through such a long slump, it was a very strange time.

So, it was time for me to explore books aimed at young teenagers. It took a while, but I found it.

This is the book that made me a reader again.Max

James Patterson’s Maximum Ride: The Angel Experiment.

WELCOME TO MY NIGHTMARE.

Do not put this book down. I’m dead serious – your life could depend on it. I’m risking everything by telling you – but you need to know.

STRAP YOURSELF IN: for the thrill ride you’ll want to take again and again! From Death Valley, California, to the bowels of the New York City subway system, you’re about to take off on an heart-stopping adventure that will blow you away…

YOUR FAITHFUL COMPANIONS: Max, Fang, Iggy, Nudge, the Gasman and Angel. Six kids who are pretty normal in most ways – except that they’re 98% human, 2% bird. They grew up in a lab, living like rats in cages, but now they’re free. Aside, of course, from the fact that they’re prime prey for Erasers – wicked wolf-like creatures with a taste for flying humans. 

THE MISSIONS: Rescue Angel from malicious mutants. Infiltrate a secret facility to track down the flock’s missing parents. Scavenge for sustenance. Get revenge on an evil traitor. And save the world. If there’s time. 

Oh boy, did I love this book!

My best friend at school first read this after she borrowed it from the school library, then she recommended it to me after she finished. So straight after she gave it back to the school library, I checked it out.

It had everything I was looking for. Adventure? Check! Memorable, lovable characters? Check! Science fiction, a genre I hadn’t yet explored? Check! Suspense? Check!

With its short chapters, it was a fast-paced thriller. I sped through this book. Once I finished yet way before I needed to bring it back to the library, I read it again!

It was so nice and comforting for me to find love for reading again. During a time of huge change, I thought I lost my love for reading altogether. I’m not even kidding when I saw that I actually thought I outgrew reading! Yes, I struggled to concentrate when I was reading – still do – but I didn’t want to stop reading altogether!

So I had a lot to thank my friend for when she introduced to a book, which was nothing like I read before in my life, that made me a reader again.

I only had the first three sequels of Maximum Ride after this one before I stopped reading the whole series. I personally didn’t really like where it was going.

Despite that, I still appreciate Maximum Ride: The Angel Experiment. It’s perfect for young teenagers who enjoy adventure, suspense and science fiction.

Have you read this book? Which book made you a reader?

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

2 thoughts on “My Friday Thoughts – The Book That Made Me A Reader Again

  1. I haven’t reread this in a long time, but I still recommend it!
    I have always loved fairy tales and I have been wanting to read more comic books – I’ve really gotten into them recently!
    Nowadays, I tend to read all sorts of genres, just whatever grabs my attention 🙂 
    Thank you! 😄

    Like

  2. I haven’t read this one yet but I want to! Especially now 🙂
    I don’t remember the book that made me a reader… It was either fairy tales or comic books. Probably both. Nowadays I read mostly YA but not exclusively.
    Great post, Gemma! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

