Posted in 2017, BEDM, Books, May, Q&A

I Ask Myself ‘Have You Ever…’ Questions About Books

Hello, people of the internet!

Today, I would like to write a creative and witty (hopefully) post where you could learn more about my reading habits, particularly if I have ever done anything book-related.

So, let’s begin!

Have you ever lost a book?

Despite my organisational skills, yes, I have lost a book. It is 1984 by George Orwell. My room is being decorated, so I moved all my stuff, including my precious books, into another room. That was months ago (things keep getting in the way, so my room is still a work in progress) and I haven’t seen 1984 since!

Have you ever read a book that you did not finish?

There is one. It happened years and years ago. It was a book I chose at school to read. I can’t remember for the life of me what it was called, who wrote it or what it even looked like – it was purple, I think, and there was a dinosaur on the front, again I think – but it was so boring, I actually asked my teacher if I swap books – a first for me!

To this day, I can’t even handle the fact that a book about a dinosaur was boring (and they are awesome!)

Have you ever destroyed a book?

What do you think I am? A monster?

You’re the one asking the questions.

No, I haven’t. Whenever I see people destroy books, I honestly feel a bit down. Then again, I’ve yet to read a book I wanted to destroy, so maybe once that happens, I’ll change my mind?

Have you ever written/drawn in a book?

The only books I’ve ever written and drawn in are textbooks I bought for school. True story: once we finished our last exams, my best friend and I spent our free period at school writing and drawing in our science textbooks. Looking back, it would have been more beneficial if I gave it away, but it’s still a very precious, funny memory my best friend and I share. I still remember the characters we created: Gangster Chicken (all we did was draw stereotypical gangster clothes and bling on a chicken and, to us, he become a three-dimensional character) and Ernie the Enzyme (we just drew a face on an enzyme – it was hilarious).

Have you ever thrown a book in anger because of what was happening in it?

No.

But I have gotten close. That book was Daughter by Jane Shemilt. The ending really annoyed me. You can read why in my review.

Have you ever dropped a book in the bath?

No because I don’t trust myself to even bring my books anywhere near the bath. IĀ know I’ll drop it!

Have you ever used a book as a stool?Ā 

Before I bought my own stool, I used all my large books to get to hard-to-reach places like shelves and cupboards.

Just in case anyone is wondering, I am 5 foot 2 inches tall.

Have you ever used a book as a doorstop?

Stephen King’s IT is a very good doorstop. I would recommend it as both a doorstop and something to read.

Have you ever dropped a book on your face?

When I read in bed, yes. Surely I can’t be the only one who has had this happen to before!

Have you ever fallen asleep while reading a book?

Yeah, I have. When I was rereading Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban in Austria, I was so tired after the day long journey there, I fell asleep while reading it. Face down in the pages and everything.

Have you ever balanced a book on your head while walking?

Not since last week.

***

And those were my ‘have you ever…’ book-related questions! I might do another one of these as it was a lot of fun to write!

Have you ever done any of these?

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

2 thoughts on “I Ask Myself ‘Have You Ever…’ Questions About Books

Leave a Reply

