Posted in 2017, Books, June, My Friday Thoughts

My Friday Thoughts – Books I Aim To Read This Month (June 2017)

Hello, people of the internet!

For those who don’t know, I have a monthly series called ‘Books I Aim To Read This Month’, where I pick out books I want to read by the end of the month. This has really helped me to control my TBR pile since I have the habit of getting more books, even though I have a load I haven’t read yet.

Let’s hope I have another successful month with these books!

Girl Hearts Girl by Lucy Sutcliffe

Girls Hearts Girl

Lucy always knew that her idea of Prince Charming was different to that of other girls…

And then she meets Kaelyn online – and everything starts to make sense. Could her Prince Charming be a girl?

An inspiring and uplifting memoir about falling in love and finding yourself.

I know little to nothing about this book, Lucy Sutcliffe, Kaelyn and their YouTube careers, but I’m still interested in this book. I’m reading this as part of The Little Contemporary Blog’s LGBTQ+ book club, which focuses on books with LGBTQ+ themes and/or are written by LGBTQ+ authors. As a supporter of this community, I can’t wait to read this book!

Replica by Lauren Oliver

replica

Lyra’s Story

The Haven Institute is a building tucked away on a private island off the coast of Florida that from a distance looks serene and even beautiful. But up close, the locked doors, military guards, and biohazard suits tell a different story. In truth, Haven is a clandestine research facility where thousands of replicas, or human models, are born, raised and observed. When a surprise attack is launched on Haven, two of its young experimental subjects – Lyra, aka number 24, and the boy known only as 72 – manage to escape. 

Encountering a world they never knew existed outside their secluded upbringing, they meet Gemma and as they try to understand Haven’s purpose together, they uncover some earth-shattering secrets that will change the lives of both girls forever…

Gemma’s Story

Gemma has been in and out of hospitals for as long as she can remember. A lonely teen, her life to date has revolved around home, school, and her best friend, April. But after she is nearly abducted by a stranger claiming to know her, Gemma starts to investigate her family’s past and discovers her father’s mysterious connection to the secretive Haven institute.

Hungry for answers, she decides to leave the sanctuary of her home to travel to Florida, only to stumble upon two replicas amidst the frenzy outside Haven’s walls, and a completely new set of questions…

I just love how this book is presented: read the book one way to read one story, then turn the round and over to read the other story! Even though the story itself isn’t new to me, I am curious to see how this turns out!

A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab

A Darker Shade of Magic

Kell is one of the last travellers – magicians with a rare ability to travel between parallel universes connected by one magical city. There’s Grey London, without magic and ruled by the mad King George III. Red London – where magic is revered, and where Kell was raised alongside the heir to the empire. White London – where people fight to control the remaining magic and magic fights back. And once there was Black London…

I have heard so many readers praise this book and, after I read and loved This Savage Song (also written by V. E. Schwab), I had to get a copy and read it for myself. Also, I really like the cover! What do you guys think of it?

And those are the books I aim to read this month! Have you read these books?

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

2 thoughts on “My Friday Thoughts – Books I Aim To Read This Month (June 2017)

Leave a Reply

