Posted in 2017, Books, Horror, June, My Friday Thoughts, Short Stories

My Friday Thoughts – The Book I Will Not Finish?

Hello, people of the internet!

For those who don’t know, I very rarely do not finish books because there is always a chance the book may improve later on. Yes, it would be better if I just left them, but there is a voice in my head that constantly says, “You never know, maybe the book gets better? Why waste the opportunity?”

Why do I do this to myself?

However, there has been a book recently that I have tried to read, but I haven’t picked up nor, to be honest, want to pick up.

And that book is…

Haunted by Chuck Palahniuk

Haunted

Haunted is a novel made up of stories: twenty-three of the most horrifying, hilarious, mind-blowing, stomach-churning tales you’ll ever encounter. They are told by the people who have answered an ad headlined “Artists’ Retreat: Abandon your life for three months”. They are led to believe that here they will leave behind all the distractions of ‘real life’ that are keeping them from creating the masterpiece that is in them. But ‘here’ turns out to be a cavernous and ornate old theatre where they are utterly isolated from the outside world – and where heat and power and, most importantly, food are in increasingly short supply. And the more desperate the circumstances become, the more desperate the stories they tell – and the more devious their machinations to make themselves the hero of the inevitable play/movie/non-fiction blockbuster that will certainly be made from their plight

Oh, if only I paid attention to the parental warning on the cover…

I only got up to when the short story ‘Guts’ finishes – which is about 20 pages into the book. Now I have heard from various people about this infamous story and its contents, which is…erm…google it. Google this short story and you’ll found out from there because it is so disgusting, so graphic that I actually, no joke, feel nauseous reading it and I don’t want to even type it!

I tried to read the story again and it’s too much for me! What is happening is vulgar and the fact that it is describing in great detail that makes it all the more worse.

Seriously, google the story and you’ll find a synopsis somewhere. Then you will understand why I find it so horrifying. And if that’s what the whole book is like, then I won’t continue to read it.

Of course, that is the all point of horror, isn’t it? To be horrified? But it’s not entertaining in any way nor is it hilarious like the review snippet says on the cover. It’s just unpleasant and brutal. If that is the whole point of the book, then I have to admit it succeeds. But it’s not a book for me.

And yet, to be honest, I’m still curious about the book. I have only read twenty pages of it. What if it’s just ‘Guts’ that got to me? The short story itself only gives background to the character writing the story, so perhaps the rest of the book isn’t like Guts and isn’t so in your face with its disgustingness?

Or am I just reluctant to not finish a book?

Probably both.

So, maybe I should give Haunted another go just to see? If I still don’t like it and makes me nauseous, then I’ll stop. If I find the story interesting and want to continue, then I will.

I just won’t be reading ‘Guts’ again any time soon…

So…much…nope…

What do you think? Have you read Haunted? What book makes you feel nauseous to read?

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

3 thoughts on “My Friday Thoughts – The Book I Will Not Finish?

  1. I’m exactly the same: I never DNF a book unless it is absolutely horrendous and I can’t continue further. Which is just insane, but I have this compulsion to make sure I’m not missing out if I drop the book at that moment.
    So I googled Guts and one of the links said “67 people fainted as I read my horror story” which prompted me to immediately not want to know what it was about XD I hate horror, unless it’s like Poe or something similar, which is more eerie than anything else. Gore and disgusting stuff just doesn’t do it for me.
    I honestly hope the other stories are better and that you enjoy them. Otherwise, just stop and make yourself some chamomile tea, get some brownies and watch a Care Bears rerun. Trust me on this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is exactly how I feel about not finishing a book!
      Any horror books with too much gore doesn’t scare me – it just puts me off! I prefer to read suspenseful horror stories, like The Woman In Black, which is one of my favourite ghost stories because it did creep me out and its themes were dark, but it was still intriguing and kept me reading.
      I will continue to read Haunted at some point, but for now I’m reading A Darker Shade of Magic – which is a MUCH better book in my opinion! I hope I enjoy the other stories too, but then again, the chamomile tea, brownies and CareBears rerun sounds a lot better haha!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah it’s not scary but it’s really disgusting so I end up not wanting to continue anyway hahaha
        Ghost stories are kind of cool… Unless they’re really, really messed up and I’m reading them at night, and won’t be able to sleep afterwards XD
        ADSOM is awesome! I’m glad you’re enjoying it so far 😊
        And happy to hear you liked my suggestions too 😛

        Like

Leave a Reply

