Posted in 2017, Books, Discussion, July, My Friday Thoughts

My Friday Thoughts – #ReaderProblems

Hello, people of the internet!

I can safely say for the majority of my life, I’ve been a pretty avid reader. Of course, that means I have had my fair share of reader problems. However, they’re technically not problems – heck, I have problems with concentrating and understanding what I read, so that should be on this list. Instead, they’re problems along the lines of “I am a reader, and so these things happen to me quite a bit and I wonder if other readers have encountered them as well”. I hope it’s a somewhat comical post (I can’t promise you that it is), but I thought it would be a great idea if I told you my #ReaderProblems and, who knows, maybe you know what it’s like?

Without further ado, here are my five, personal #ReaderProblems!

(Why on earth did I make it into a bleeding hashtag? Well it’s too late now, I already edited the logo…)

1) Not being able to talk about a book because of spoilers

When it comes to reader etiquette, this is pretty much up there on the ‘you are the worst kind of person if this don’t follow this rule’ scale. If a person you’re talking to hasn’t read a book that you have already read, do not mention spoilers. Yet, I will be honest here, I’m the reader who wants to talk about spoilers in depth. Some of my reviews do go into spoilers (hence why I put in spoiler alerts in them) because it is something I do enjoy discussing. So when I’m talking to someone who hasn’t read a book and doesn’t want to even think about spoilers, I don’t mention them…but deep in my psyche, I’m either like, “Oh my God, it’s so amazing! Just read it now, so we can talk about it for hours!!!” or “You have no idea what you’re getting yourself into. It’s the worst! Save yourself before it’s too late!”

And on a similar note…

2) Getting a book spoilt for you

This has happened to me a few times, but there has been one occasion I will forever remember.

I had just bought Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn and have been so good not to read the synopsis online (a terrible habit I am glad to be rid of, believe me!) and I told someone I had the book.

And that person proceeded to tell me the major spoiler, assuming I already read it…

It took every fibre of my being not to lose it right there and then. I might as well as not bought the book. I eventually did read it, but it would have much better if the book was unspoilt for me.

3) Debating whether or not to let someone borrow your book

I have rules.

When someone asks me if they could borrow my book, I’m tempted to say, “Well, you’ll have to fill out a form and for every day you don’t give my book back, I will add interest.”

I’m joking, of course, but then again, they say (whoever they are) that joking is in good humour, but there is an element of truth. I do let my friends and family borrow my books (I’m not that tight, you know), but when I’m lending out either very special and/or signed books, I can’t help but worry about it until I get it back.

Please tell me I’m not the only one who does that!

4) Papercuts

Yep, I have gotten papercuts from books.

It’s just tragic, like why has my pride and joy just attacked me when all I’ve done was pay it attention? You don’t expect them to happen, especially from a book and you’re into the book so much you forget you’re actually reading a book, so when you get a papercut from a book, it’s a betrayal of the worst kind.

Heart-breaking really.

Who else got a papercut from a book or do books just hate me?

5) Debating whether or not to continue with a book series

Books are a commitment of your time, money and energy – and book series are an even bigger commitment. You stay in the same world with the same characters. But sometimes, there are series that are indeed somewhat good, but there’s a little hesitation on whether or not to read the next book in the series. I certainly have this problem with some series. Like, “it’s good, but there are quite a few things about it that really annoy me…then again, I want to know what happens…but I don’t care about these characters…”

It just carries on into a loop of debating with myself when it would be a lot easier to just decide. Yet I don’t decide…

What are your #ReaderProblems?

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

2 thoughts on “My Friday Thoughts – #ReaderProblems

Leave a Reply

