Posted in 2017, Books, Discussion, July

What Was That Book?

Hello, people of the internet!

Have you ever read a book long ago, but you can’t remember what it was called or who wrote it, so you can’t find it?

I have. I have three books I read ages ago, remember vaguely about the cover and the plot, but I can’t find out what they are. I have googled them, but it’s just as useful as trying to find the name and composer of classical music.

So, I thought, “Why not write a post about it? Maybe someone out there feels the same way or may even know which books I’m talking about?”

Here are the three books I want to find, but can’t.

Book Number One

I can remember the cover of this one better than the other two. It was a light blue with a white rose and a pair of eyes with heterochromia on the cover. The precise details about the plot escape me, but it goes along the lines of this: in a post-apocalyptic/alternative universe, there is a laundrette (?) where orphans girls live and are treated cruelly. One of them (a girl with heterochromia) decides to escape from this laundrette each night in order to tell people of the cruel treatment.

And that’s all I remember from it. I liked it at the time – it was different from what I read – and have been wanting to read it again just to see if my opinion changed or not.

Book Number Two

The cover of this book is bright red with a jewelled necklace (?) in the middle – it was either blue or green. As for the plot, it takes place many centuries ago (I can’t remember when) where a girl, whose mother abandoned her outside a house (?), dreams of her mother returning and taking her back in her rich home. During the first third of the book, the girl looks after an elderly neighbour, who gives her riches after she passes away. Then the girl’s mother returns and takes the girl back to her rich home where she meets a variety of characters. However, it turns out the woman who claims to be her mother isn’t her mother and only wanted the riches the girl had gained due to the inheritance and the girl escapes back to the house where she grew up in.

Again, the details may be a little off, but I also liked this book. It would be nice to read it again.

Book Number Three

Oh boy…This is a tricky one…

The cover of this book is white and red splotches (blood?) and a hand print (?) in the top middle. To be honest, I have to guess with this one because I hardly remember the cover at all, but I had to give it a shot.

The plot…*Sighs* There is a secret laboratory (?) where it keeps a collection of strange, mutant children for experiments (on a side note: this is a plot point I hear a lot when it comes to science fiction, it should be its own genre…) and they escape.

…That’s all I remember.

I know it’s not that helpful, but it was almost a decade ago when I read this one. It had a strange ending, which I didn’t understand at the time, but I think I was too young for it and I do want to give it a second chance.

***

Do you have any idea which books I’m talking about? I don’t blame you if you don’t.

Have you ever completely forgotten the title and author of a book, so you can’t easily find it?

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

3 thoughts on “What Was That Book?

  1. I wish I could help you more but the only one I know about is book one: Fearless by Tim Lott. The other two might require a little more digging… However, there are some websites you can use. The one I use the most is a group on Goodreads called What’s the Name of that Book??? (https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/185-what-s-the-name-of-that-book), but there are tons more. I found this list that might be helpful too: https://www.nypl.org/blog/2012/06/28/finding-books-by-plot
    Hope you can find the titles for the other two books! Good luck 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

