Posted in 2017, August, Books, Discussion

Books I Aim To Read This Month (August 2017)

Hello, people of the internet!

Today’s post will be short and sweet as I have lots of posts planned for this week in order to make up for my absence since the beginning of August. This includes me attending book events, book reviews and a mini book haul.

But let’s start off this month with the books I aim to read this month!

Love Me Not by M. J. Arlidge

Love Me Not

She Loves Me

A woman’s body lies in the road. At first, it looks like a tragic accident. But when Helen Grace arrives on the scene, it’s clear she’s looking at a cold-blooded killing. But why would anyone target a much loved wife and mother?

She Loves Me Not

Across town, a shopkeeper is killed while his customers are left unharmed. But what lies behind the killer’s choices?

She Loves Me

Who lives? Who dies? Who’s next? The clock is ticking.

She Loves Me Not

If Helen can’t solve this deadly puzzle then more blood will be shed. But any mistake and it might be her own…

I used to read a lot of crime thrillers, but when I began to see how formulaic they are, I read less of them. But the DI Helen Grace series by M. J. Arlidge is the only crime thriller series I read currently because I care a lot about Helen (even if she does fall into the ‘detective with a dark past and/or secret’ trope) and I want her to solve the crime. I also like how dark the killers are.

I just can’t wait to read this!

How To Stop Time by Matt Haig

How To Stop Time

Tom Hazard has a dangerous secret. He may look like an ordinary 41-year-old, but owing to a rare condition, he’s been alive for centuries. From Elizabethan England to Jazz-Age Paris, from New York to the South Seas, Tom has seen a lot, and now craves an ordinary life.

Always changing his identity to stay alive, Tom has the perfect cover – working as a history teacher at a London comprehensive. Here he can teach the kids about wars and witch hunts as if he’d never witnessed them first-hand. He can try to tame the past that is fast catching up with him. The only thing Tom must not do is fall in love.

How To Stop Time is a wild and bittersweet story about losing and finding yourself, about the certainty of change and about the lifetimes it can take to learn how to live.

I love the premise of this story. As someone who adores history, I can’t wait to see different historical periods depicted in How To Stop Time. I went to a book event in Manchester where Matt Haig discussed this book. There will be a post about it on my blog soon.

Another book I can’t wait to read!

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

Leave a Reply

