Posted in 2017, Books, Reviews, September, Short Stories, Young Adult

A Change Is Gonna Come – Book Review

Hello, people of the internet!

In case you didn’t know, I took part in The Little Contemporary Corner’s Read-Along and Blog Tour of A Change Is Gonna Come, a collection of short stories and poems written by BAME (Black, Asian and Ethnic Minorities) writers. You can read my post about the short story We Who?, written by Nikesh Shukla, here.

Now that the Read-Along has officially finished, here is what I thought about the whole collection!A Change is Gonna Come Pic

Title: A Change Is Gonna Come
Authors: Various
Publication date: 10th August 2017
Publisher: Little Tiger Press Group
Pages: 320

Whatever the story, nothing stays the same.

You lose someone you love…You fight for what you believe in…You create the future you want…

What I just simply love about this book is the variety of stories and poems in them. They range from contemporary, historical to fantasy. I had no idea what kind of story or poem I was going to read before I started – only knowing that a certain change was going to occur and affect the lives of the characters – and was happy with what each author had written.

Each voice is unique and, I swear I’m not lying to you, I remember every single story and poem in this book. I remember the protagonist, their relationships and what change occurred to them. I was invested in each story and I wanted them to be happy – that’s how much I cared about them. Even though there were stories I preferred more than others, there wasn’t a story or poem I found boring or didn’t have something interesting or thought-provoking.

I honestly can’t find anything in this book that I didn’t like. There were, however, a few stories I struggled to get into and that’s because of either the setting (Patrice Lawrence’s The Clean Sweep) or the mythical elements (Phoebe Roy’s Iridescent Adolescent). Don’t get me wrong, I still liked the stories and remember them very well, but I was confused with them more than the others and was left wanting answers. Regardless of my opinion, I still encourage other people to read them.

This book is filled to the brim with social commentary – such as racism, mental illness, grief, sexuality, love, family, etc. – and each issue and theme is dealt with respectfully. To read stories and poems with BAME characters written by BAME writers is brilliant as I have wanted to read more diverse books. Whilst some stories dealt with issues that BAME people do face, there were stories that only had BAME characters whose stories went in a completely different direction. It was something I didn’t expect, but I welcomed it nonetheless. Admittedly, however, the stories that dealt with problems that BAME do face are the stories that stuck with me the most.

If I did have to pick my favourites, it would be Marionette Girl by Aisha Bushby, We Who? by Nikesh Shukla and Dear Asha by Mary Bello.

I will give A Change Is Gonna Happen 4 stars out of 5. I am glad to have read it and would recommend this book to anybody.

4-stars

Thank you for reading!

Author:

Hello, people of the internet. My name's Gemma and this is my book blog! There will be reviews of books of any genre! There will also be book hauls, discussions and much more!

Leave a Reply

